Mom's Warm Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
A tasty off to bed drink after a patchy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
At our house this is called "magic milk" because we always add food coloring! I have raised 11 grandchildren and my own children on this. They love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I think you should probably adjust the sugar to your own liking. Start with 2 teaspoons then add more if you need to. I use Splenda instead of sugar. If you add one beaten egg yolk and a jigger of whiskey or dark rum you have my mothers egg nog recipe. That is what I found interesting. Of course that version is just for the adults. It will really make you sleep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I've tried warm milk different ways and couldn't stand it. I decided to give it one more chance with this recipe. Glad I did! I LOVE this! Didn't have nutmeg so I used pumpkin pie spice. Yum! Going to be having this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Heart warming!!! Tried it also with cinnamon, worked pretty well too (when I ran out of nutmeg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysKaKa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My mom gave this too me as a child, I'm now 28, but I always give to my god kids at night, it's a wonderful before bed treat on cold nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foreverhostyle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brevard, North Carolina, USA
Living In: District Heights, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I've always made this for my kids. They prefer cinnamon to nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Even with Almond milk, this was delicious! BTW, I used honey instead of sugar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
My Mother made this for me when I was little....I made it for my childen when they were little and if I need instant comfort I make it now for myself. The extact same recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Excellent drink. I can remember my mom relaxing with warm milk every morning....and me & siblings at night. She used honey, & an beaten egg. Heated milk on stove (no micro in those days). To Saula's comment re the psycho effects of nutmeg..Wikipedia states that only occurs when the bean is grated in it's 'raw' form in LARGE quantities, not the ground form we use in cooking. Pays to read the article entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States