Mom's Warm Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is so cOzY! Perfect for a snow day or evening by the fire watching "Miracle on 34th Street"! My father-in-law says that this an old country-folk recipe from way back. Add a tiny bit more vanilla ;) -- It will be just what you are expecting! Also tasty is you sub. cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice for the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I sized up this recipe on the fly (which may have accounted for my comment to come), but I found that the nutmeg was a little much for me. Next time, I'll just use a dash or use cinnamon like some other reviewers have commented. It's so yummy and relaxing... I shouldn't have made it while I was doing homework!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is a delicious warm drink. I often drink a cup of warm milk before bed and I will make this when I want something different than plain milk. It's very soothing. Tastes like a coffehouse drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I didn't like this, but to be fair I'm not a big fan of milk. I was hoping to develop a taste for it with this drink, but no luck. I thought it was too sweet, even with the sugar cut in half. I guess I'll stick with the classic glass of ice cold milk with a cookie to make it palatable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Very good! My husband doesn't care for cocoa that much and this is a great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Good! This milk really helps me to relax. It even soothes heartburn! I didn't have any nutmeg so I used cinnamon instead. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I generally make this without the nutmeg, because I find it doesn't dissolve and floats on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
works like a dream with my two children.thank you soooo much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Bottesford, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I have rated around 42 recipes and I have to say first that this is one of the very few recipes I have rated that I would give higher than a 5 star. I used splenda instead of sugar and I also tasted this cold before heating up and it was just as yummy cold as it was hot. What a healthy way to get a sweet treat and to get calicium in your diet. It was so soothing. My children LOVED it! I am very happy that I came across this recipe. I plan on making this a lot. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This is delicious! It tasted a lot like a white hot chocolate I had years ago at a coffee shop and I haven't been able to find anything that tasted like it since. So creamy and soothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States