Mom's Warm Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I liked it. My kids.....not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
At least 55 years ago, my grandmother used to make this recipe for me and my brother at bedtime. It was as wonderful then as it is now! I had forgotten about it until seeing your recipe and I will make it a point to pass it on to my grandchildren. Very soothing . . busy moms will like that for themselves as well as their overly energetic kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My mom has been making this for us since I was a little kid. I only recently started making this for my boys. I make it sans nutmeg because I am not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Andrea Mason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR!!! If there were 10 stars, I'd give this one 11! I tried this recipe as a way to use up some milk and I am a HUGE fan now. I used fresh grated nutmeg. Next time I think that I will use ~1.5 tablespoons of sugar as it was a little too sweet for me, but I tend to always think things are too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I would cut back slightly on the nutmeg. It is a little bit too "nutmeggy" but even then it was still incredibly wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Very delicious! I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg just because I'm a cinnamon girl. This is definitely something I'll be making a lot this upcoming fall & winter season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
this was soooo cute. the perfect pick me p that i needed after a very long day. Relaxed me immediately. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Yum! I was not expecting to like this myself - I made it for my 3-year-old daughter - as I'm not a big milk drinker. But it tasted like Christmas. . .reminded me of a Chai tea latte. I cut the sugar in half and used freshly grated nutmeg. My new bedtime ritual. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Made this last night as I was having no luck falling asleep. I didn't care for it at all (it was "OK" at best). I prefer hot cocoa or tea or just plain 'ol steamed milk without the fixins to do the trick. A good concept. Just didn't suit my taste. I like nutmeg, but mine wouldn't mix with the milk (when stirred) and, b/c of this, was difficult to drink (I felt as if I were inhaling nutmeg - which has a VERY strong / woodsy smell and a slightly scratchy texture). Perhaps cinnamon would be a better choice? Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Okay, I messed up and put in the nutmeg while it was heating. We must not be nutmeg people. I love the taste of it in my cake donuts, but the milk did not go over. I will give it 3 stars since we are just not nutmeg fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bulverde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States