Mom's Warm Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
yes, however I left the sugar out and substituted my original silk almond milk. It made for a much lighter; texture (it is already like drinking cream to me), kept the sweetness down (that is why I don't buy the other versions), and the calorie/carb count down, as I have been holding at 39 for awhile and don't need the weight gain. Also works well at keeping you warm during the winter when heat is kept low. Most recipes used cinnamon but I'm allergic and can't have my chocolate anymore. Thanks for the healthy alternative to flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
My grandmother always made 'vanilla milk' for me when I was growing up and I loved it. I made it for my children and now grandchildren and we all enjoy it. Its equally good cold in place of chocolate milk. I know this wouldn't be done today but my grandmother would beat an egg into the milk along with a bit of whiskey when we were feeling poorly. It always helped lol but of course that may have been the alcohol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I love this and have made it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Great beverage for adults and kids alike! Thanks for this recipe! I altered a little. I halved the sugar, since I'm trying to reduce my family's sugar intake. Also, I did 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon. We used skim milk and brown sugar. It was warming and calming and heavenly on a chilly September afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Been having a hard time getting my toddler to sleep and to drink milk. I used organic homogenized milk and substituted the sugar with 1 tsp of a agave nectar. And kept everything else the same. Magic! My 10 yr old loved it too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I thought I wrote a review on this the frist time I tried it, and see that i didn't. It really is nice. It gives you a warm feeling that helps you sleep better. I add a little cinnamon and vanilla to mine and love it. thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I didn't have the extract, so i mixed in half a teaspoon of vanilla corn syrup and it's magical. Very soothing and a great way to down my milk, reminds me of a chai tea latte
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Love this recipe! A nice alternative is pumpkin pie spice instead of the nutmeg, it's like a caffeine free pumpkin spice latte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
It was pretty good. It also made me sleepy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I absolutely believe that drinking warm milk calms and relaxes you... we all drank warm milk as babies. It's funny that I stumbled across this recipe because I do drink just plain warm milk whenever I cannot sleep and it instantly calms me down and helps me sleep. So I gave this a 5 star rating.. and also next time I will try to make it with the vanilla, sugar and nutmeg :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States