Mom's Warm Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Wanted to add that you can change the recipe to your tastes. I have since started using fat free milk and artificial sweetener. My son made me one with brown sugar and it tasted heavenly. So please feel free to experiment with this to make it your own. Enjoy! I have to give this 5 stars. The combination of flavors is so calm and relaxing. Over the years I have made substitutions like with a sugar substitutes and it is still good. I have been making this for 14+ years and our boys continually ask for it. I know that it seems like alot of sugar. But it really does work with the combination of flavors. When I made it it was by sheer co-insidence that the boys became sleepy after drinking it. I did not have any hot chocolate or tea bags on hand as they had been outside playing in the snow and I just made it for them. They went to bed by themselves after having this. I thought surely not. But yes it does put you in a calm state of mind. I have made it with honey when I did not have sugar on hand. It really is good and it is so relaxing. I hope this will be a family favorite for you as it has become one of our's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
i LOVED it! it is sooo easy and is like a hot milkshake! as son as i tried it i made some for my sister and mom, they both thought it was great 2!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Delicious! The wind was blowing, the rain was pouring down and my daughter and I wanted something to drink with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. This drink hit the spot and made me excited for the coming holiday season. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Weaver Petersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is wonderful and reminds me of sleepovers at my grandparents so many years ago. I added cinnamon to mine just because I am a cinnamon freak. With the holidays around the corner this is sure to become a family favorite in many households. Hubby suggested that a candycane/peppermint stick would be good at Christmas. Thanks Dawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I LOVED this recipe. It's great as a "pick-me-up" drink, and it goes extremely well with a box of Kraft Dinner Mac & Cheese. When I inititally tried this recipe out, I didn't have any ground nutmeg with me, so I substituted it with a pinch of brown sugar, and a little less white sugar. It came out really well, with all sorts of flavour. I would try this cold next time, too! Great recipe, Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is such a wonderful recipe. I've made it so many times since I first reviewed it last year. I was brought up with regular warm milk with a pinch of sugar, and, although that certainly did the job, this recipe takes it to a whole new level. The first time I made it, I didn't deviate from DAWNSCOTT'S recipe, and it certainly deserved 5 stars. Since then, however, I make it using brown sugar, and - if I have it - a generous splash of cream. I also keep a bag of English toffees in the cupboard specifically for this drink: the toffee flavors the milk, and gets all gooey and delicious at the bottom of the mug. I LOVE this recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very delicious. I've tried other warm milk recipes without really finding the right flavor for me, but this hit it on the nail. I was craving something warm on this cold winter day & this hit the stop. I accidently added 2 tsp vanilla but that worked out great! Nutmeg worked great & gave such a nice flavor. Thank you so very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
When I found this recipe, I had to get right up and make it. I made it with Splenda instead of Sugar and it was delicious. The nutmeg is a great touch. But more than delicious, this just makes you feel good, like a warm blanket around your shoulders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
So warm and soothing. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
When I read this recipe I though oh simple enough. I got up and made it. It was alright. I love chai tea so I thought this would be interesting. I would cut back on the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States