Mom's Warm Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Yum!!! I am 13 and I LOVE this. I am not a fan of plain milk, and my mom used to make this for me when I was little. Now I just make it myself, but its SOO good. I don't use the nutmeg, however. Thanks, its so soothing and yummy!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Simple and wonderful. I've been using this recipe for a few years now. Instead of sugar, I usually add honey as I prefer the taste of honey in my milk. I also use skim milk and it doesn't alter the taste at all (at least for me) plus it's a bit healthier than using whole or 2%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
So soothing. This is wonderful ... with the nutmeg its like a warm very light eggnog. Warms you inside and makes your tummy smile. Adjust sugar to taste (1 T. was enough for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Easy and yummy. Perfect on a cold day or before bed. Nice alternative to hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I'm another mommy to be. I've been craving milk like crazy, but needed something to help mellow me out and relax... this was just what I needed. My husband loved it too! Vanilla is a fantastic addition to warm, sweet milk. Didn't have nutmeg, so substituted with a tiny amount of allspice, and a decent dash of cinnamon. I love the suggestion of peppermint at Christmas time. I will definitely try adding candycanes as stir sticks when they come back in season. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I tried this recipe when I was suffering from insomnia during pregnancy and it was amazing! Tastes delicious, and works wonders! My 3yr old even liked it and he is very picky! He said it tastes like "cookies"! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harmoni911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Burton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is very yummy! My husband and I love it! This will be the first thing I think of if my daughter can't fall asleep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley McCartney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
this is FANTASTIC! my daughter is having trouble falling asleep... she is 17. She is desperate for anything calming. this made her so calm. she went right to bed and said that she fell right asleep! thank you. she told me to save the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Tastes great! Not sure if it helps me fall asleep, but it does help me stay asleep. No tossing/turning or waking up during my sleep. First few times I added the ground nutmeg directly into the milk but I don't enjoy the floating spice. Now I cut open a tea bag, empty the contents and replace it with nutmeg, then just staple or string it back up. Same great flavor without getting the nutmeg in your teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Maspeth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bay1pond
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was amazing! I was sick yesterday and still am feeling a little under the weather today, so i was looking for an easy warm drink that was not tea or hot cocoa. I also was in the mood for something with milk. I made this and i was tired just after drinking it! Yummm(: But i am NOT a nutmeg fan so i did not put any on. I reccomend this for anyone who does not like nutemeg. You can also subsitute the sugar for splenda to make this healthier! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bay1pond

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States