Mom's Warm Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Ok this DOES taste really good, but I am rolling in the floor laughing my head off. Of course it makes the little darlings sleepy....vanilla extract is 35% alcohol!! I make my own vanilla extract at home, and all it is is vanilla beans and vodka. They use pure grain alcohol for commercial vanilla. Thanks for the laugh...and the drink!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I thought I had nutmeg but discovered I was out when I went to make this, so I used cinnamon instead. Cinnamon doesn't dissolve very well, but it still tastes great. I love this drink! I can't wait to try it the right way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I wasn't feeling great one day so I filled up the bath with warm water and tons of bubbles and made this to go along. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was really good, and it really did get me sleepy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrow, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
A tasty off to bed drink after a patchy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
At our house this is called "magic milk" because we always add food coloring! I have raised 11 grandchildren and my own children on this. They love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I think you should probably adjust the sugar to your own liking. Start with 2 teaspoons then add more if you need to. I use Splenda instead of sugar. If you add one beaten egg yolk and a jigger of whiskey or dark rum you have my mothers egg nog recipe. That is what I found interesting. Of course that version is just for the adults. It will really make you sleep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Rasberry
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I've tried warm milk different ways and couldn't stand it. I decided to give it one more chance with this recipe. Glad I did! I LOVE this! Didn't have nutmeg so I used pumpkin pie spice. Yum! Going to be having this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Heart warming!!! Tried it also with cinnamon, worked pretty well too (when I ran out of nutmeg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysKaKa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My mom gave this too me as a child, I'm now 28, but I always give to my god kids at night, it's a wonderful before bed treat on cold nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamika Moss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brevard, North Carolina, USA
Living In: District Heights, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States