Mom's Warm Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
My mom would make this for me when I was younger. It helped calm my anxiety so well. When ever I feel overly anxious I make some and I almost instantly relax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Very simple and easy to make and very tasty. It was a tad to sweet for me since I no long have the taste buds of a child, but I know that I can tweak it to my own taste and experiment. I am going to try to find a finer grain of nutmeg, because the bottle of it I have did not really mix well with the milk but that was the only drawback for me. The only thing I changed was that I added cinnamon because that is one of my favorite spices. With that said, I think this recipe is still deserving of 5 stars. If you don't like it to be sweet, then add less sugar or none at all, but play around with it a little before giving up on it. P.S. Drinking it out of your favorite (Doctor Who) mug makes it taste better. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
AMAZING!!!! Don't judge it by the smell... Taste great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
yes, however I left the sugar out and substituted my original silk almond milk. It made for a much lighter; texture (it is already like drinking cream to me), kept the sweetness down (that is why I don't buy the other versions), and the calorie/carb count down, as I have been holding at 39 for awhile and don't need the weight gain. Also works well at keeping you warm during the winter when heat is kept low. Most recipes used cinnamon but I'm allergic and can't have my chocolate anymore. Thanks for the healthy alternative to flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
My grandmother always made 'vanilla milk' for me when I was growing up and I loved it. I made it for my children and now grandchildren and we all enjoy it. Its equally good cold in place of chocolate milk. I know this wouldn't be done today but my grandmother would beat an egg into the milk along with a bit of whiskey when we were feeling poorly. It always helped lol but of course that may have been the alcohol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I love this and have made it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Great beverage for adults and kids alike! Thanks for this recipe! I altered a little. I halved the sugar, since I'm trying to reduce my family's sugar intake. Also, I did 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon. We used skim milk and brown sugar. It was warming and calming and heavenly on a chilly September afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Been having a hard time getting my toddler to sleep and to drink milk. I used organic homogenized milk and substituted the sugar with 1 tsp of a agave nectar. And kept everything else the same. Magic! My 10 yr old loved it too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I thought I wrote a review on this the frist time I tried it, and see that i didn't. It really is nice. It gives you a warm feeling that helps you sleep better. I add a little cinnamon and vanilla to mine and love it. thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I didn't have the extract, so i mixed in half a teaspoon of vanilla corn syrup and it's magical. Very soothing and a great way to down my milk, reminds me of a chai tea latte
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States