Mom's Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This will be a new tradition in our home; could even be a sweeter hummas-like dip for pita chips to please those with a sweet tooth at parties. I just processed it in blender until smoother for that use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
All my life i have hated turnips. i used to leave the house when my mother cooked them and refused to sit at the same table if they were served. For some reason, I decided (now that I am much, much older) that I would give them an "adult" try. WOW! I wish my mom would have made them like this. I've missed out on a great fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Love this and the second day is even better! We have so many turnips in our garden this year that I have been looking for different recipes. I gave my father this recipe along with the turnips, he isn't a big turnip fan, and he thought it was great. It is a little sweet so the next time I am going to cut down on the sugar. This is a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I thought this was a great way to use the turnips which were part of my organic vegetable delivery. My husband, who had said he would not eat turnips, remarked that they were well disguised. I also added about a pound of cooked fresh green beans to the dish, which made it an even tastier, more substantial meal. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
To die for! This recipe will make a turnip lover out of anyone! I cut back the brown sugar a tad and added more bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Awesome dish. Everyone thought it was apples for some reason. I guess it tastes too good. This dish contained a lot of fat. It wouldn't be good for someone who has to watch their fat intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe for turnips! Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I have been serving mashed turnips at Thanksgiving for 30 years, using my mother-in-law's recipe. I've never really been fond of them. This recipe changed my mind. Even my mother-in-law thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
ok....I didn't know that hubby didn't like turnips and I made this recipe to go with cornish hens and wild rice. It was perfect and HE ATE IT! The brown sugar gave such an umph to dullness of turnips and you never can go wrong with BACON! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
For turnips, this probably is "the best". My husband, who likes turnips, really thought this recipe was good, although he did say it wouldn't be how he would always want to eat them. I, who doesn't like turnips at all, was pleasantly amazed that this recipe makes them edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States