Mom's Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was the first year I got to make all of the sides for Thanksgiving and I decided to try a new way to make the turnips. This was a very successful dish everyone loved it. Only bad thing was there were no leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Pine Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I wanted a few turnip recipes because on occasion, I do like them. I agree with another reviewer that the proportions are all off. I used 1 teaspoon of bacon fat and 2T of brown sugar and kept the rest of the ingredients the same. If I find another turnip recipe, I’d replace this one with it as this was ok, nothing to write about and wouldn't serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This recipe makes turnips actually edible,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Edible, but I was very disappointed that I wasted bacon on this dish :( I should have just eaten the bacon by itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I thought this was a great way to use the turnips which were part of my organic vegetable delivery. My husband, who had said he would not eat turnips, remarked that they were well disguised. I also added about a pound of cooked fresh green beans to the dish, which made it an even tastier, more substantial meal. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
i found that the turnip was very mushy and bland...i also found that all i could taste was grease...sorry but i made it for thanksgiving meal i think i'll have to make another substitute veggie dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ppajjo2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
All my life i have hated turnips. i used to leave the house when my mother cooked them and refused to sit at the same table if they were served. For some reason, I decided (now that I am much, much older) that I would give them an "adult" try. WOW! I wish my mom would have made them like this. I've missed out on a great fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This will be a new tradition in our home; could even be a sweeter hummas-like dip for pita chips to please those with a sweet tooth at parties. I just processed it in blender until smoother for that use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
To die for! This recipe will make a turnip lover out of anyone! I cut back the brown sugar a tad and added more bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Had a houseful of people when I tried this recipe all but 2 kids liked it. All 6 adults liked it. None of us have liked turnips any other way. I used about half the bacon, because that was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States