Mom's Traditional Creamed Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Big fan of the creamed onions. Another suggestion(what I do)is add sharp chedder cheese to the sauce while it is thickening the after I pour the sauce over the onions I top it with a Ritz Cracker and butter topping, and bake for about 35min. This is a lot richer than your recipe,so some people may not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Way too much watery sauce for the amount of onions called for. I'd use half the amount of liquid and maybe some dehydrated onion bits to give the sauce some flavor in addition to the salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was excellent!! The last time I had creamed onions, they were frozen! This was way better and much tastier. Here is what I did: Bring the water to a boil, and drop your onions in, skins and all, let them boil for 1-2 min., drain them. Then, you cut them, by doing it this way, it is much easier. Far as the white sauce goes, equal amounts of butter and flour, combine the milk with the cooking water. I did it a cup at a time. 1 C. of cooking water mixed with 1 C. of milk, pour that in gradually. The spices I used were salt and pepper to taste, and Paprika. On any spice, you can always add more of it at the end, so go sparingly while in the pan. Paprika is a great spice, a nice hint of color, and a great taste too. My husband and I loved this dish, he's never had them before and he enjoyed this. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks Ibby! Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Don't save the cooking water. It's not necessary, and just makes for a really runny dish. A tip: Pearl onions are easier to peel if boiled whole with skins on. When done, just pop them out. They will be nice and creamy, and not a pain to peel that way. Use cream in this recipe instead of milk. I'd add a dash of some kind of hot sauce or cayenne to give this dish some pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Yummy!!! I would add sauted mushrooms next time with a touch of white wine.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I used fresh onions & snow peas from the garden to make this recipe and it was wonderful. I did not use all the liquid however. 7 cups milk & cooking water just seemed like too much, but maybe it would be okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
I liked it but I thought it may need a little more flavor... I was thinking maybe add cream instead of milk and add some chives! Other then that it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILANNE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe calls for way too much liquid and not nearly enough onions for the amount of sauce. 3 cups liquid TOTAL is all you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
My entire family raved about these. Great recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Make it easy on yourself and use a couple of jar onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States