Mom's Traditional Creamed Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Make it easy on yourself and use a couple of jar onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great recipe - my husband is an onion fanatic and he loved this with roasted lamb chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was excellent!! The last time I had creamed onions, they were frozen! This was way better and much tastier. Here is what I did: Bring the water to a boil, and drop your onions in, skins and all, let them boil for 1-2 min., drain them. Then, you cut them, by doing it this way, it is much easier. Far as the white sauce goes, equal amounts of butter and flour, combine the milk with the cooking water. I did it a cup at a time. 1 C. of cooking water mixed with 1 C. of milk, pour that in gradually. The spices I used were salt and pepper to taste, and Paprika. On any spice, you can always add more of it at the end, so go sparingly while in the pan. Paprika is a great spice, a nice hint of color, and a great taste too. My husband and I loved this dish, he's never had them before and he enjoyed this. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks Ibby! Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it's just somewhat bland. I added a bit of garlic powder, but still kind of boring. Another reviewer suggested using a bit of chedder and topping with crushed buttery crackers, then baking, and I will probably try that with the ample leftovers I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Don't save the cooking water. It's not necessary, and just makes for a really runny dish. A tip: Pearl onions are easier to peel if boiled whole with skins on. When done, just pop them out. They will be nice and creamy, and not a pain to peel that way. Use cream in this recipe instead of milk. I'd add a dash of some kind of hot sauce or cayenne to give this dish some pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Added 3 cloves of garlic and 1/2 lb mushrooms to this receipe. Easy to make and great addition to a dinner party...something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xgymnast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Way too much watery sauce for the amount of onions called for. I'd use half the amount of liquid and maybe some dehydrated onion bits to give the sauce some flavor in addition to the salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Very little taste to me. Tasted like milk with onions dropped in it. YUK! I might try it again tho, but with a LOT LESS milk...just enough to give it some body, and I may use cream instead of milk, and add chives or something else. All in all....didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Big fan of the creamed onions. Another suggestion(what I do)is add sharp chedder cheese to the sauce while it is thickening the after I pour the sauce over the onions I top it with a Ritz Cracker and butter topping, and bake for about 35min. This is a lot richer than your recipe,so some people may not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
My entire family raved about these. Great recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States