Mom's Texas Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I view this recipie as sort of 'chili lite' and, as such, can't help but add most of the contents of the spice cabinet to it. Yummy! First off, along with the onion I added a good helping of minced garlic and seasoned the meat a bit at that time. I reduced the amount of chili powder called for in the recipie greatly and made up for it with cumin - my favorite spice for chili and other mexican dishes. I also added sage, thyme, oregano, basil, and rosemary to round out the flavors - I know I'm a spiceaholic but when I make my "everything in the spice cabinet chili" I always get rave reviews. I also added a can of red beans because I felt, as a couple of other reviewers also did, that something else was needed. Served with brown rice and with a bit of cheddar cheese sprinkled on top, this is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a good basic receipe for Texas Hash, add 2 cloves of chopped garlic and a pkg of medium cooked shells. Cover with cheese. Put lid on and let the cheese melt - then serve!! That's the Texas way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsheffie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This an old recipe of my mother's. It's really great for a quick comforting meal. It can be changed around with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
this is a good starter recipe. only used 1 tbs chili powder as my kids don't do 'spicy'. i added 1 chopped celery stalk and garlic salt while cooking the beef. then i added a can of corn at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
My husband made this last night for us. It was very good. Our 4 y/o daughter even ate it too. She usually doesnt eat rice, but she did last night. Whoo hoo! Go Daddy, go Daddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Very easy dish to make. A bit flat on flavor and definitely needs a pinch of oregano or something, but the recipe itself is a good starting point for personalization. I added kidney beans, and regret not adding garlic. It needs something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My family thought this was pretty good - a filling, tasty meal. I added kidney beans because I thought it just needed something, and was happy with that choice. It was also pretty fast and easy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is a fantastic base recipe and I admit I tweaked a bit but the results were tasty. Instead of ground beef, I used Johnsonville Italian sausage. And since this recipe is perfect for whatever additions you desire, I added some black beans and corn and served it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States