Mom's Texas Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This is yummy. Sort of a pie, sort of like a pudding. This reminds me of a dessert called chocolate lush. I made this for my hubby's birthday instead of a cake since he isn't a cake eater but loves cheesecake, pudding and parfaits. I used 2% milk and chocolate pudding mix since he doesn't like coconut either. This was really simple to prepare and just took a bit of time is all. Could be done with any flavor of pudding. This makes a huge pan and could serve 12 easily. Thanks for sharing this delightful dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
THIS IS A NICE CHANGE WITH THE COCONUT PUDDING (I ADDED FLAKED COCONUT TO THE PUDDING TO ADD SOME PUNCH) BUT I HAVE BEEN MAKING THIS FOR YEARS WITH CHOCOLATE PUDDING & THE REAL NAME IS NOT "MOM'S TEXAS DELIGHT", IT IS SLUSH CAKE. IT WAS FAMOUS AROUND THE 70'S & WAS ORIGINALLY MADE WITH PISTACHIO INSTANT PUDDING----BUT MOST PEOPLE PREFERRED CHOCOLATE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I have added canned crushed pineapple to this, just drain the pineapple well and spoon over the cream cheese. I have used Bananna pudding adding sliced banannas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This has been my all time fav. desert since i was like 10 years old. This is the best!! You have to use Chocolate pudding though. Never heard of using coconut cream pudding, but maybe i will try it sometime. But for sure try it with chocolate pudding, its classic. Oh and it is even better if you use dream whip, instead of cool whip. Depends on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I love love love this recipe!! I've made it a couple time as written, and I changed it up a little and used a traditional graham cracker crust (pecans can get a little expensive). I love them both!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Be sure to try this with the coconut cream pudding--it "makes" the recipe. This just isn't as good with banana cream pudding; and, although a chocoholic, I've never made it with the chocolate pudding. Pistachio--that I'll have to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This recipe is really easy and tastes great, I double the cream cheese/sugar/whipped topping layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leoti, Kansas, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I make this with white chocolate pudding and a layer of chocolate fudge pudding, and when you add the rest of the whipped cream i top it off with walnuts (chopped) and chocolate shavings, a beautiful dessert to bring to gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This recipe is delicious and a hit at potlucks. I use chocolate pudding instead of the coconut, but that is the only variance. Try this - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Tasty dessert! I made one and a half times the amount of crust because I can never seem to get the crust spread out in a 9 x 13 inch pan and another half recipe of crust was just enough for my pan. I compared this recipe with other pudding desserts and others call for 3 cups of milk with 2 boxes of pudding. I compromised with 2 1/2 cups of milk which seemed to be just right. I topped mine with toasted coconut pieces. This is a nice dessert and a change of pace from chocolate. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States