Mom's Texas Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Delicious! Everyone loved it, thanks, pk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This recipe is delicious and a hit at potlucks. I use chocolate pudding instead of the coconut, but that is the only variance. Try this - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Could not find coconut cream pudding so I used banana cream pudding. It came out pretty good, but is a little too sweet for my tastes. The crust is really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
So refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Yummy - we call this "better than sex" and use pistachio pudding instead of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Be sure to try this with the coconut cream pudding--it "makes" the recipe. This just isn't as good with banana cream pudding; and, although a chocoholic, I've never made it with the chocolate pudding. Pistachio--that I'll have to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Excellent!!! Everyone that ate it loved it and wanted the recipe. It's my new favorite dessert--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This is yummy. Sort of a pie, sort of like a pudding. This reminds me of a dessert called chocolate lush. I made this for my hubby's birthday instead of a cake since he isn't a cake eater but loves cheesecake, pudding and parfaits. I used 2% milk and chocolate pudding mix since he doesn't like coconut either. This was really simple to prepare and just took a bit of time is all. Could be done with any flavor of pudding. This makes a huge pan and could serve 12 easily. Thanks for sharing this delightful dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
THIS IS A NICE CHANGE WITH THE COCONUT PUDDING (I ADDED FLAKED COCONUT TO THE PUDDING TO ADD SOME PUNCH) BUT I HAVE BEEN MAKING THIS FOR YEARS WITH CHOCOLATE PUDDING & THE REAL NAME IS NOT "MOM'S TEXAS DELIGHT", IT IS SLUSH CAKE. IT WAS FAMOUS AROUND THE 70'S & WAS ORIGINALLY MADE WITH PISTACHIO INSTANT PUDDING----BUT MOST PEOPLE PREFERRED CHOCOLATE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I make this with white chocolate pudding and a layer of chocolate fudge pudding, and when you add the rest of the whipped cream i top it off with walnuts (chopped) and chocolate shavings, a beautiful dessert to bring to gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States