Mom's Texas Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Delicious! Everyone loved it, thanks, pk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This recipe is delicious and a hit at potlucks. I use chocolate pudding instead of the coconut, but that is the only variance. Try this - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Could not find coconut cream pudding so I used banana cream pudding. It came out pretty good, but is a little too sweet for my tastes. The crust is really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
So refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Yummy - we call this "better than sex" and use pistachio pudding instead of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Be sure to try this with the coconut cream pudding--it "makes" the recipe. This just isn't as good with banana cream pudding; and, although a chocoholic, I've never made it with the chocolate pudding. Pistachio--that I'll have to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Excellent!!! Everyone that ate it loved it and wanted the recipe. It's my new favorite dessert--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This is yummy. Sort of a pie, sort of like a pudding. This reminds me of a dessert called chocolate lush. I made this for my hubby's birthday instead of a cake since he isn't a cake eater but loves cheesecake, pudding and parfaits. I used 2% milk and chocolate pudding mix since he doesn't like coconut either. This was really simple to prepare and just took a bit of time is all. Could be done with any flavor of pudding. This makes a huge pan and could serve 12 easily. Thanks for sharing this delightful dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
THIS IS A NICE CHANGE WITH THE COCONUT PUDDING (I ADDED FLAKED COCONUT TO THE PUDDING TO ADD SOME PUNCH) BUT I HAVE BEEN MAKING THIS FOR YEARS WITH CHOCOLATE PUDDING & THE REAL NAME IS NOT "MOM'S TEXAS DELIGHT", IT IS SLUSH CAKE. IT WAS FAMOUS AROUND THE 70'S & WAS ORIGINALLY MADE WITH PISTACHIO INSTANT PUDDING----BUT MOST PEOPLE PREFERRED CHOCOLATE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I make this with white chocolate pudding and a layer of chocolate fudge pudding, and when you add the rest of the whipped cream i top it off with walnuts (chopped) and chocolate shavings, a beautiful dessert to bring to gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States