Mom's Texas Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
yummy with or with out the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was kind of interesting, but a hitch with an ingredient and some inexperience with the technique made it just okay overall, in my opinion. I tried to make it exactly as written, but I quickly found out that 1/2 cup of cornflake crumbs was not enough. (I'd measured it by volume, and probably should have measured by weight instead.) In a minor vein, the amount of eggs used was too much (I used the standard "large" eggs, and the "medium" ones I see for sale would have been more appropriate). I'm not very familiar with the dipping and breading steps used here, so probably didn't do the best job, especially since I ran out of crumbs. I cooked the whole dish for 40 minutes (at which time my side dish was also done). It tasted decent, and the gravy was a nice touch (though there wasn't much of it). This was a nice, different recipe, but I think it could definitely be improved upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Had to make it twice (first time was OK and worth a second shot), but the 2nd time was AMAZING. I did not have corn flakes on hand either time, so I went with some bisquick and seasonings. Don't "play" with the chicken too much or the breading falls off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
The best way I have found to make chicken like this is to dip the washed and dried chicken in egg, then roll in Panko (or Japanese style) bread crumbs instead of flour and cereal, salt and pepper - and the most amazing ingredient is to fry these in coconut oil! I know you think I'm crazy..., but it isn't sweet, it gives these lovely chicken tenders a new twist in taste!! Don't knock it til you try it. You may have to go to a Whole Foods type store to find the coconut oil, it is worth the trouble and cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
We just finished eating this and it's a good thing I made extra or I'd have nothing to eat for lunch tomorrow! I didn't bother with simmering in the bouillon water, so we just had them as chicken tenders! They were crispy and we served with a variety of dipping sauces. This is a healthy alternative to fast food, because we used all white-meat chicken and fried in olive oil. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.C. Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe tasted great, but it was terribly difficult to keep the chicken from getting a little soggy! Maybe I did something wrong. I gave it a 4 for taste because it was definitely delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
this was a extreamly tender flavorable chicken. i highly recomend this recipe. true down to the roots southern cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Excellent taste with delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Maybe I did something wrong, but the breading on the chicken did get soggy and fell off the pieces of meat. I wasn't pleased with this recipe. Too much work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This was pretty good but I like my chicken crispier. It has a good flavor but the chicken crust gets soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States