Mom's 'Sweet 'n' Sours' Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
These ribs were terrific! I made them a bit differently then the recipe said to, but they turned out great!!!! Instead of going from parboil/fry/oven, I just threw all the ingredients together to make a marinade, and put in the fridge for a few hours...(I also didn't have any dry mustard, so I just added a squeeze or 2 of prepared mustard) Then I put the ribs and marinade in a glass baking dish and threw them in the oven @ 325 till they were done. VERY VERY VERY YUMMY!!! Thanks for the great recipe HOWITZER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I was looking for a different flavor for some country style ribs (boneless) I had on hand and thought I'd try this out. I cut up the meat into bite sized pieces, boiled for 1/2 hour, drained and then followed the recipe being sure to brown the meat well. It was absolutely delicious! I used rice vinegar as it didn't specify what type and served over white rice. Both the boyfriend and I just loved it, he would have preferred a bit thinner sauce to mix into the rice but I thought it was fine. Best sweet & sour we've ever had. This is going in the recipe box and will be repeated again and again!!! UPDATE!!! I cut some pork loin chops into bite sized cubes, shook in salted, peppered flour, browned in oil & then added the liquid with one addition, about a teaspoon of freshly grated ginger. WOW! That brought it to an all new level of delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I put everything in the crockpot, even frozen pork stew meat. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
this recipe was really tasty and really easy but I must say I didnt follow the recipe totally. I mixed everything in a bowl and after my meat was cleaned and seasoned I poured the mixture on top and baked slow at 300 degrees it came out outstanding will definately try this again with pineapple chunks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This will be my new rib standard recipe! The dish turned out wondefully...moist meat, and yummy flavors. I did make the following adjustments: less soy sauce and water, used brown sugar instead of white, and used rice vinegar. The sauce thickened up nicely with the use of slightly less liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Very good recipe. I added green pepper strips, pineapple chunks, a little celery, cored chopped tomato and sesame seeds for color. This is a KEEPER. Thank you HOWITZER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
i followed the recipe to the T and it came out great. one of the best recipes for spare ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
The pork ribs were delicious! I didn't have dried mustard, so I just left it out, they still turned out great. Perfect over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
WOW AWESOME! The whole family loved it and there was NO left overs! Wonderful. I have also made the sauce without the Ribs, and then poured the sauce over Fried Chicken Nuggets, and also Fried Popcorn shrimp! It's GOOD, and I agree that whatever you use the sauce on, it goes good with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Mmmmm.... add cruahed pineapple in at the end with the garlic and make sure you get boneless ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States