Mom's 'Sweet 'n' Sours' Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Really great sauce! I followed the procedure exactly and the ribs turned out really well. I changed the ingredients just a bit. I doubled the garlic and also added pineapple chunks as was suggested by another reviewer. Was great over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
The sauce alone in this recipe deserves 5 stars! I've used it for ribs in the past but tonight decided to try it as a stirfry sauce since it's so yummy. I sauteed some thinly sliced pork with some celery, carrots, bell pepper, baby corn and onion. Once they were almost done I tossed in the sauce along with some drained pineapple. Delicious! I've also added grated ginger to this to give it even more zing. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
i followed the recipe to the T and it came out great. one of the best recipes for spare ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
WOW AWESOME! The whole family loved it and there was NO left overs! Wonderful. I have also made the sauce without the Ribs, and then poured the sauce over Fried Chicken Nuggets, and also Fried Popcorn shrimp! It's GOOD, and I agree that whatever you use the sauce on, it goes good with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Delish! Served this over rice and enjoyed leftovers today for lunch. I inadvertently bought boneless pork ribs so I could have/should have cut back on cooking time. The meat was a bit overcooked but I'll know better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made this recipe for our country style ribs. I didn't have any soy sauce so instead I used BBQ sauce and it was absolutely excellent. The second time I made it I used the soy sauce. My husband and I preferred the BBQ sauce variation over the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I've been looking for my Mom's sweet and sour spareribs recipe for years and this is it! She use to make this for us and it was always one of my favorites but the recipe got lost over the years. Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this recipe...you made me feel like I was home again in my Mom's kitchen, absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Carvalho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Yum-o! A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
this was very very good.. only one better, that was my mom and she passed away..you did a great job.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ottertail, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Soooo delicious and soooo easy! I didn't have soy sauce so I substituted worchestershire sauce for the soy sauce and vinegar and it worked. I also saved the water from boiling the pork and threw in a handful of baby carrots which I added to the pork when the garlic went in. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States