Mom's 'Sweet 'n' Sours' Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I'm not sure if "sweet and sour" is the right way to describe this sauce. It was more like a thin teriyaki sauce. We loved it, but I won't use it too often. Soy Sauce isn't cheap and this recipe uses quite alot of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These came out really good! My kids told me to definitely make this recipe again! I browned the ribs in oil and garlic, and then whisked the rest of the ingredients together. I used mostly white sugar but did use some brown sugar. I marinated the ribs for an hour or so, and then put the ribs and all of the marinade in the oven for approx. 1.5 hours. The sauce came out perfectly, and the ribs looked wonderful plated. I served the ribs with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This dish is easy to make and has a great flavor. I have never really tried anything labeled "sweet 'n' sour", but I will definitely make this dish again. Thanks for sharing this beauty HOWITZER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Very easy to prepare. I love the fact that I had the list of ingredience in my pantry, and that some of the ingedience were substitutable with others. An example would be for the vinegar or using brown sugar instead of standard white. If you think i'st a bit on the sweet side, just cut back on the sugar. My husband thought it a bit sweet so I will do this the next time around. I also cooked mine in the oven at 325 for 50 to 55 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This sauce was fantastic. I used pork cubes, did a quick stir fry with them to brown, then cooked in the sauce like the recipe said. After about 30 min the sauce wasn't as thick as I had hoped for, so I added 1T of cornstarch to some water and stirred that in. Instant sticky sauce. No need to cut back on the liquid if you do this. This sauce would be great on boneless chicken too! Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Sooo good! We really enjoyed this. Definitely a keeper! There is so much sauce left over that I save it for the next night to make stir fry. Great versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This came out great, but I changed a couple of things. Instead of using 1/2 cup of soy sauce I used just 1/4 cup of soy sauce and 1/4 cup of teriyaki sauce. I also subsituted mustard seed for dry mustard and seasoned salt for regular salt. I also added a dash or two of Worcestershire sauce and a TINY bit of crushed red pepper. I would definately use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelicook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was very very delicious!! The sauce had a little trouble thickening so I added a bit more flour but it turned out great! My family loved it and I will definately put it on the regular menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This will be my new rib standard recipe! The dish turned out wondefully...moist meat, and yummy flavors. I did make the following adjustments: less soy sauce and water, used brown sugar instead of white, and used rice vinegar. The sauce thickened up nicely with the use of slightly less liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Just used the ingredients as a marinade and cooked them in my Crockpot for Sunday dinner and the where fantastic, don't know if I can eat ribs any other way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kisha Riley Rasband

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monahans, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States