Mom's 'Sweet 'n' Sours' Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Followed the recipe (except I used Splenda sugar substitute and reduced sodium soy sauce per dietary restrictions) and family said it was just OK. Kids said they liked the sauce just fine but prefer ribs to be more tender, either cooked low and slow in oven when I do BBQ ribs or in crock pot. Will make again, but use another cooking method for the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyjacobi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Excellent! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I needed to triple everything because I had 8lbs of ribs. Added some sweet onion after braising the ribs. I also slow cooked the ribs on low for 6-7 hours. They were fall off the bone. The ribs were excellent with fried rice and stir fried vegetables (we did a Chinese cooking night). Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Made it as directed, it was absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Tried it, myself and my family think it was a wonderful dish. Needs a little less sugar, but great. We added pineapple, crushed, minus the juice and enjoyed it very much. Thank you. Easy to prepare. Marcie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Great recipe! I used half white sugar half brown sugar and red wine vinegar because that is what I had and I prepared the sauce as the ribs boiled. I saved the broth and used it in the sauce instead of the water. It came out great! The kids all loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was a great recipe but the sauce was a bit thin for my liking. Next time I'll put less water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2eat
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I seasoned my ribs with garlic powder/ salt lemon pepper fried them with onion till all sides were brown followed the exact measurements of ingredients but cooked them in the slow cooker with the sauce. They're not finished yet but do smell amazing can't wait to dig in after I take them out and broil/grill the in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I've made this recipe over a dozen times now and its great! Especially since I always seem to find ridiculously good deals on country ribs! I've been making my moms sweet n sour chicken for a while and wanted to try something new. So I stumbled upon this recipe. My mom came to visit last month so I made her this and she LOVED it. Definitely a hit! I do add less water though because I like a thicker sauce. I always make fried rice packed with veggies, egg and brown rice. Oh boy is it good together.. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Throssell
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Really good and easy. Made this with lamb ribs and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Throssell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I found this recipe REALLY salty. I will make it again without the tsp of salt. The other strike against it is it looks really unappetizing, just a brown slimy sauce. Luckily it tastes better than it looks. It's a good sweet & sour for people who don't like pineapple (like my husband, he loved this). Because of the reviewers who said it dried out too fast, I cooked it with the lid on for the first 1/2 hour and then uncovered after adding the garlic. Plus I cooked it an extra 20 minutes for tenderness. The tenderness and the sauce consistency turned out just fine that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States