Mom's Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Awesome. I used this for crab nigirizushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
My son loves sushi and said this is really good. I will take his word for it. It really isn't my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Perfect just the way it was written. I served this up with Japanese Fried Chicken and Japanese Sesame Green Beans. Even my 8 year old cleaned his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Great recipe, removed the kelp though ... not due to preference, just didn't have it on hand. I would actually reduce the vinegar and sugar slightly. My rice was a little too "sticky" and it made it difficult to roll. As with all sushi rice, make sure you have a bit of vinegar/water mix to wet your fingers so the rice doesn't stick and make a mess! This mix is also great to wet your knife before slicing your sushi so it cuts through nice and clean. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Tapps, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aznsouris
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great recipe for sushi rice, but it came out a little on the mushy side so I'm going to reduce the amount of water by just a little bit next time. One thing to note: When you initially pour in the vinegar mixture and mix the rice, it may seem overly sweet. You have to thoroughly mix the rice and then let it completely cool before using it. The flavor changes as it cools. I was scared about the sweetness at first, but after it completely cooled, I used it to make my California Maki (roll). It tasted perfect - restaurant quality sushi rice. I'm definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aznsouris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wonderful recipe first time I ever made sushi and it came out perfectly because of this rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I used this recipe as a model for the version I made. I used my rice cooker instead of cooking on the stove. I used 2.5 cups (rice cooker cups) of rice and I didn't use the kelp. Because of the increase in rice, I added a smidge more vinegar. I followed the directions as far as rinsing the rice and letting it sit for 30 mins. After the rice was cooked, I shut off the rice cooker and let it sit for 15 minutes. While the rice was cooking, I heated the vinegar until simmer, then shut it off and added the sugar and salt so that it would dissolve more thoroughly. I let it cool before drizzling and mixing into the cooked rice, which at the same time, I fanned until room temperature. Made great sushi rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Changed nothing, did not use all of the vinegar mixture - should be called Mom's Perfect Sushi Rice. Did spread the rice out on a piece of foil to cool - that worked well, I just used the bamboo paddle to move the right amount of rice onto the nori.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Turned out perfect. Love the taste, consistency and texture. I used it to create a Sushi-Roll Rice Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeymoogle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
great rice! Can't go wrong. I make it in my rice cooker and got it perfect the 1st time I've ever made sushi rice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela Eve Hudkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States