Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
We had these ribs last nite and were in heaven! They were very easy to prepare. I may have put a little too much water because it took an hour for the water to evaporate. I didn't have cilantro so I substituted parsley, oh.. and used low sodium soy sauce. An excellent recipe that will definately be served again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Yummy!! This was a hit at my house. I used 2 lbs. of bone-in country style pork ribs and just cut the recipie exactly in half. It was perfect. If the water takes too long to boil down turn the heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
533 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I'm going to make these tonight! To answer the question (dated 7/29/05), I believe the recipe uses "Country Style Pork Ribs Loin Rib-End" - that's what they're called at my local grocery store (Bethel Food in Connecticut). They are thicker and meatier, have a small bone and come approx 4-5 per package. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I used bonless country style ribs (they were on sale ;), used only 1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce and eliminated the cilantro (not a big fan). The ribs came out great--very rich and not too salty. I used the left overs to make enchiladas--very tasty. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Fabulous! Best meal I've had in a long time. I used too much water for some reason, but it still turned out wonderful. No joke, this was really really good. I'll make them all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I hate to sound stupid, but this recipe calls for 10 pork spare ribs, which normally come in slabs. I haven't tried it because I am not sure what measurement the author is referring to. Is it 10# of ribs (too much for 6 servings),or 10 individual ribs (not enough for 6 servings). Please claify, as the recipe does sound good, and I'd love to try it. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Absolutely fantatic! I used the country style ribs. I also had trouble with the amount of water-took almost one hour to cook. They were tender and full of flavor. I also made fried potatoes with cilantro and garlic. My kids gobbled this up, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Delicious! I would have never thought to boil ribs! I was afraid to try it but I'm so glad that I did! I didn't have soy and I didn't add as much sugar/flour and it still was still mouthwatering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RitaRita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was great! I just made it with country style pork ribs. I was looking for a simple recipe that didn't take all day to cook. I used lite soy sauce and reduced the amount as suggested and mine are perfectly seasoned, the cilantro makes it I think.. However, it did take almost 2 hours for all the water to evaporate. Edited: Use the largest (widest) pan you can find to facilitate the evaporation and cook at just a simmering boil. You want the longer cooking time to make them tender. And just as others said, watch it closely when it gets 1/2 because it finishes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I love these ribs! We make it all the time and the results are never disappointing. The cooking time is a bit off, however no problem, by the time the water is reduced and the ribs beginning to brown, the meat is always tender and the aroma permeating the house is mouth watering. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States