Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My guys enjoyed this and the house smelled great! I did cut the soy sauce in half because of the saltiness potential and taste preference. After reading all the reviews about the cooking time, I decided to use a large, deep skillet and it still took an hour and a half for the liquid/juices to cook away. I even added some of the liquid to the rice I was cooking to give it added flavor. Will definitely make again, maybe thickening the liquid toward the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
We don't eat added sugar so finding a good bbq recipe that is not full of sugar is hard but this one was DELISH!!! Definitely a keeper and will make again. It took longer than 25 minutes for the water to boil off though so don't overfill the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
It also took me far longer than the 25 minutes to boil off the water. I wish I would have kept track. I was targeting to eat around 6, and we finally sat down at 7. I ended up pouring off a lot of water as well, returning the "good bits" to the pot. They were fantastic, even for my picky 6 year old (he enjoyed gnawing on the bones like a T Rex!). I can only imagine how much better they'll be when I can take the time to do them correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was delicious over steamed white rice. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maedaysmiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Wonderful!! Made with reduced sodium soy sauce and boneless pork ribs. After 35/40 min the water still hadn't completely evaporated so I just poured it out and then browned the pork. My husband said this was the best pork he has ever had. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I followed the basic recipe instructions as I didn't have all of the ingredients, but the reviews sounded great, so I tried it. Boiled ribs? Oh yeah, baby! They were AMAZING! I used beer instad of water. No lime. No rosemary. I followed what other reviewers said about watching the water. I was skeptical until the very end when the beer boiled away and the seasonings remained. Browned the ribs; removed from pan; stirred BBQ sauce into the pan with the drippings. Spooned/spread over ribs. I'll never cook ribs any other way! Thanks for a fabulous new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very good but too salty. I've made these a few times and have reduced the soy by a lot. Takes MUCH longer than 25 minutes to simmer out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was very easy and tasted great. Trim as much of the fat off as you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
These always come out perfectly. We've been making these for a couple of years now and they're our go-to recipe for ribs. We made duck breast with this recipe and it was really good as well. We used cilantro, or neither parsley or cilantro depending on what we have. We will be growing parsley this year so I will be sure to make it that way as you said it is more traditional. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Excellent. The ribs usually have so much fat on them but this recipe makes them easy to trim and eat. I used half the amount of soy sauce (ran out) and substituted orange juice for half of the amount of water. Added garlic powder, along with the garlic, while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States