Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The water boiled out in about 30-35 minutes for me. I think those that didn't get the water out were on low simmer. She says medium boil with lid off which is fairly vigorous. I used 1 T dried parsley and 1 T dried cilantro and 4 fat cloves of garlic and all the other seasonings the way they were written. I had 2 lbs. of boneless country spare ribs. The soy was over powering - VERY SALTY. The other seasonings were good. I would use 1/4 cup of soy at most next time or maybe even less and add 1/4 cup red wine or marsala. I love cooking method - fun and easy. It took about 2 minutes or less to brown once the water was gone. I had seasoned my pan with oil in the beginning on sides as well as bottom and I added a little more olive oil on the browning time. My pan cleaned up surprisingly easy. In the meantime, I boiled some potatoes with a a little skin left on them with a touch of olive oil and 1 clove garlic (3 reg. size yellow potatoes) and mashed them with a little (2 T) half and half/milk and sprinkled some dill. That made a nice complimentary dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I'm with everyone else......took forever for the water to boil down - like almost three hours. I cut the recipe in half for just two people. Wondering why it took me so much longer. With that said ...... FABULOUS. If I had ordered these from a restaurant, I'd be back as often as possible. What I did was pour off some of the broth after a long time and set it aside. As the ribs started to brown, I drizzled some of the broth over them to keep them moist. I didn't have bay leaves at home, so can't imagine how much better they could be with those. Made some mashed potatoes and used some of the leftover broth as gravy. Yummy, yummy, yummy. Thanks to "Mom" for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is one of the best recipes I've tried on Allrecipes! I followed the ingredients exactly. It took longer to boil down the water than recipe stated. It boiled so long that I stopped when there was about 1/4 of the water left and added cornstarch and made it into a gravy. It was delicious. Itook meat off the bones and served it over noodle. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
OMG, followed the recipe exactly, sort of. Didn't have limes, will try next time. Used country spare ribs, didn't chop up the parsley, didn't know if I should, used the whole 10 sprigs, forgot to only use 3/4 of them so had none for the end, which didn't seem to matter. My husband who is a big traditional country boy, loves his ribs and barbecue, absolutely thought it was the best thing he's ever eaten. Even though he hates rosemary and with an entire tablespoon I really thought he would hate this. But he loved it. The aroma as it was all boiling was awesome. Now I have to say, it took forever for the liquid to boil down but it was worth waiting for. I kept scaping and turning the meat at the end to help it all dry out. I would also like to add that they were very salty and I used low sodium soy sauce, but other that that they were so good but definitely not low-cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Simple and good. Easy for us married over worked families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Upper Verlot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very flavorful. We enjoyed them but they were much more dry than I would have guessed. However, we've had the same country ribs prepared several different ways and they would sometimes come out dry too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Tried it with cut up pork roast and it was delicious. I was afraid it would be dry so after browning the meat I added some water and corn starch to make a sauce. With some added salt it was fine but it would have been fine without the sauce, meat was tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
fixed ribs today and really liked them. my mother would always boil ribs years ago, however because pork was much more fatty then than what is now was the reason for boiling.liked the idea of seasoning while boiling the ribs. good reciepe, i think you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I was nervous cooking this recipe since my son loves BBQ ribs and normally doesn't like anything that seems "different" from that. Boiling ribs is something I've never done. So, I had a big pot, probably put too many ribs in but it started boiling down and all of a sudden my son is there saying "what smells so good?!" When it finally boiled down where we could eat them (it did take a very long time), I was still nervous...rosemary and lime instead of BBQ. Then we tasted them. We loved them! Add our thanks to your mom for this delicious way to cook ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb2887
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Albion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Not sure what went wrong. Tried it with just over 3 lbs of baby back ribs. Filled pot so that ribs were just covered with water. Added soy sauce, garlic, rosemary, oregano parsley per recipe. Brought to a boil, reduced heat. Bubbled away for about 40 minutes. Still had more than 1/4 inch of water and no sign of browning. Meat was done, but result was bland. Anybody else have a similar result?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Botnen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States