Mom's Sticky Chicken From 1972 Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Absolutely amazing. I, too, found the sauce to be a bit thin, so I started over, reduced the water & vinegar, and increased the ketchup slightly and it cooked down to a perfect glaze. I used legs and thighs and the amount of flavor was INCREDIBLE, considering the simplicity of the ingredients. The flavors are very bold and Asian.... you couldn't have convinced me that ginger wasn't in this dish if I hadn't made it myself. Definitely a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheryLfaLkner
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Thanks for all of the Great Reviews! The MOST Important part about this recipe is that you HAVE TO BASTE IT! With a 'baster' every 10 minutes! Reach in and get the juices and drizzle the sauce all over the chicken. The sauce thickens as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryLfaLkner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by chefchristabug
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This recipe was totally worth it! I loved the flavor. I also did chicken wings. I'm not sure why previous reviews said the sauce was too thin. It is thin until you continue to baste your chicken in the oven and it thickens all over the chicken as it bakes and mine was quite thick when done. This flavor is yummy and reminds me of General Tso's Chicken. Mmmmm good! I will definitely be using this recipe again with all different cuts of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
didnt change a thing, this is good as is, yes the sauce is thin but it will thicken during cooking. my hats off to your mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
It's so nice to have something your Mother cooked from your childhood pop up like that!!! My mom recently found a recipe from childhood and made it for me . What comfort!! Your wings are now going to be a tradition in our family . They were so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very tasty - just too sweet. I know you need the sugar to get it sticky, but taste is also important. With 3/4c sugar and a bit more peper the sauce would taste a lot better over rice. I will be using the adapted recipe in future because even the original was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LTLFLEA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This came out DELISH! My 11 year old so had 2 servings. I used Chicken Tenderloin and following the recipe of 3 lbs, I had to make a 2nd batch of sauce before putting it in the oven. Followed it to the T and came out great!!! Only thing I will change next time .. More Heat .. at it's written, is sweet no kick (at least not to me) ... make 1/2 for ltlman and 1/2 for me---HOT! Some stated sauce didn't thicken up....SO not the case - happens in oven stage of recipe. Got thru photos to mine and you can SEE the stickiness! Thank you so much for submitting!!! Those who try won't be disappointed - especially if you have littleones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Oh wow these wings are absolutely delicious! My whole family went nuts for these wings and there were no leftovers. I wish I could give them more than 5 starts. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this receipe. It is so easy and absolutely delicious!!! My husband gets excited everytime he sees me frying up chicken because he knows what is coming next :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
OMG this is wonderful. Entire family agrees. I made this recipe as prescribed, and wouldnt change a thing. Maybe more heat if the kids were gone but otherwise a perfect recipe. Made this with chicken strips.....yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States