Mom's Sticky Chicken From 1972 Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
It's so nice to have something your Mother cooked from your childhood pop up like that!!! My mom recently found a recipe from childhood and made it for me . What comfort!! Your wings are now going to be a tradition in our family . They were so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was good, but the sauce was very thin. Next time I will use this cooking method, but just shake the chicken when it is done baking as they do in wing restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Absolutely amazing. I, too, found the sauce to be a bit thin, so I started over, reduced the water & vinegar, and increased the ketchup slightly and it cooked down to a perfect glaze. I used legs and thighs and the amount of flavor was INCREDIBLE, considering the simplicity of the ingredients. The flavors are very bold and Asian.... you couldn't have convinced me that ginger wasn't in this dish if I hadn't made it myself. Definitely a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These were really good. I did make some adjustments to the sauce. After making the sauce i ended up adding brown sugar to it to make it just a bit sweeter and i only used 1/2 tbsp of the hot sauce since i have little kids in the house. I also used chicken tenders and fried them until done. i simmered the sauce until it was thickened and i poured it over my tenders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefchristabug
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This recipe was totally worth it! I loved the flavor. I also did chicken wings. I'm not sure why previous reviews said the sauce was too thin. It is thin until you continue to baste your chicken in the oven and it thickens all over the chicken as it bakes and mine was quite thick when done. This flavor is yummy and reminds me of General Tso's Chicken. Mmmmm good! I will definitely be using this recipe again with all different cuts of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I really loved the flavor of these wings. I love the sweet and mild spice. My only problem was that the people I made them for didn't like that they were not crispy. Next time I will fry the wings and instead of baking them in the sauce I will cook the sauce separately and put the sauce on after the wings are cooked and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knovakne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Great and easy recipe. As long as you bake it long enough, the sauce will thicken. Next time I'll experiment and just skip the deep fry part and bake instead for a little bit before adding the sauce. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
woooo, love this stuff,..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onion61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is a really good recipe, reminds me very much of sweet and sour chicken. Followed recipe to a T, came out just great. I was thinking about skipping the fry step though I'm glad I didn't. Without it the chicken wouldve likely been too soggy. This recipe is def worth a try, I'll be integrating it into the standard lineup. Perfect with steamed rice and fresh chopped scallions sprinkled over top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
OMG this is wonderful. Entire family agrees. I made this recipe as prescribed, and wouldnt change a thing. Maybe more heat if the kids were gone but otherwise a perfect recipe. Made this with chicken strips.....yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States