Mom's Sticky Chicken From 1972 Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is an all time favorite recipe!!! My family begs me to make it for them. I use cut up chicken breast instead of bone in chicken which makes it easier to eat. A MUST TRY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Walker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA
Living In: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I read the reviews first, very helpful. I had some chicken legs to use up; it took about 50 minutes in oven and basted about every 10 minutes. Left out the hot sauce because there were small children eating, but will try it next time. Ate the while hot, and tried the leftovers cold. Both ways were very good. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is a new family favorite!! Made this for a Valentine picnic for my husband and I. A few weeks later I brought it to a family party and it disappeared!! Then just recently again for dinner!! I cant seem to make enough! I cut up ckn breast into pieces and use Tabasco brand hot sauce! This is a must try for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Thanks for the recipe, just what I was looking for. Turned out great!! This is now a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
the sauce for the chicken is so good. I have also made the sauce in the crockpot and threw in turkey meatballs and served over brown rice and broccoli, big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Turned out really well but too sweet for us. Next time I'll reduce the sugar and increase the hot sauce and garlic. The sauce did thicken up as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very tasty - just too sweet. I know you need the sugar to get it sticky, but taste is also important. With 3/4c sugar and a bit more peper the sauce would taste a lot better over rice. I will be using the adapted recipe in future because even the original was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
oh WOW. This was so delicious, I made it with wings and it was truly "bone sucking" good. My children weren't crazy about it but I think it was because of having to touch the sticky chicken (due to bones), I am definitely going to try it with chunks of boneless skinless breasts next time. My husband cleaned his plate as well but did say he would prefer it to be bone free. I served this over brown rice and some asian-inspired sauteed veggies, and it was instantly one of my new favorite recipes. I followed the recipe for the sauce exactly (using rice vinegar and homemade ketchup), but my son is allergic to eggs and corn, so I omitted the eggs and used a mixture of brown rice flour, tapioca starch, and garbanzo bean flour for the breading. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for the excellent recipe, what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Delicious! Best tasting wings I've ever made! My teenager said "mad good mom" (teenager lingo) she couldn't stop eating them. Definitely a keeper. I didn't have any cornstarch left and used flour instead. Still worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I made this recipe for a family potluck/picnic and it was such a huge hit, everyone talked about how great it was and none left to lug home! I made this with chicken tenders instead of cut up chicken pieces, it was easier to eat that way. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States