Mom's Sticky Chicken From 1972 Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
My family loved it. I made chicken legs (kids favorite) and wings. The only changes I made was to use 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup honey instead of the whole cup of sugar. I also added a tablespoon of corn starch to the water and put that in after it got bubbly. This helped thicken the sauce up a lot before I even put it on the chicken. The result was perfectly sticky chicken. Yummm. Only reason I gave it four stars was because the sauce needed a little tweaking to be thick and sticky and the dish is time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Wow my kids even ate it lol It was to bloody hot out to turn the oven on so I put ours pan and all on the grill. Turned out awesome. Like I said even the kids, who wont eat anything new ate it. My poor husband didn't even have left overs for work! And that's something new in this house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Beals Rapponotti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
A big hit at my house. I wouldn't change a thing this was soo good. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
We loved this! It tastes alot like General Tso's chicken, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Genevieve Leigh Shane
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Absolutely amazing!!! Thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
No one in my family could eat this, it was soggy after basting in the oven, I cut the cooking time down, and the chicken was still over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I tweeked it a bit, but not by much. Instead of using garlic salt to rub on my raw chicken thighs, I used Tony's Creole Seasoning to give it a kick of heat. I also used half cornstarch and half all purpose flour seasoned with a bit of salt and pepper for taste. I added about a 1/4 cup of Crystal hot sauce and a teaspoon of cayenne pepper to balance out the sweetness of the sauce. I also doubled the recipe for the sauce, so I have extra for another meal. I think I will try it on un-floured chicken next time, even though the crust was very good. I did baste it every ten minutes as instructed and flipped the chicken over half way through baking. My family loved it, especially my husband. I will definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mignon's Filet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe was very sweet. We're not big fans of sweet with our meat and were not expecting that at all. If I were a fan of Chinese takeout then this would far exceed that which is why I gave it the 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Made this again for the second time. The first time it was too dry, but this time I covered it with foil. (gimme a break, I'm still learning)I didn't think it could possibly taste any better but it did! It was so juicy and sweet and flavourful. So for those of you that don't know, cover your chicken! Thank you sooo much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cominograce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States