Mom's Sticky Chicken From 1972 Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Absolutely amazing. I, too, found the sauce to be a bit thin, so I started over, reduced the water & vinegar, and increased the ketchup slightly and it cooked down to a perfect glaze. I used legs and thighs and the amount of flavor was INCREDIBLE, considering the simplicity of the ingredients. The flavors are very bold and Asian.... you couldn't have convinced me that ginger wasn't in this dish if I hadn't made it myself. Definitely a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
It's so nice to have something your Mother cooked from your childhood pop up like that!!! My mom recently found a recipe from childhood and made it for me . What comfort!! Your wings are now going to be a tradition in our family . They were so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheryLfaLkner
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Thanks for all of the Great Reviews! The MOST Important part about this recipe is that you HAVE TO BASTE IT! With a 'baster' every 10 minutes! Reach in and get the juices and drizzle the sauce all over the chicken. The sauce thickens as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryLfaLkner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is a really good recipe, reminds me very much of sweet and sour chicken. Followed recipe to a T, came out just great. I was thinking about skipping the fry step though I'm glad I didn't. Without it the chicken wouldve likely been too soggy. This recipe is def worth a try, I'll be integrating it into the standard lineup. Perfect with steamed rice and fresh chopped scallions sprinkled over top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
OMG this is wonderful. Entire family agrees. I made this recipe as prescribed, and wouldnt change a thing. Maybe more heat if the kids were gone but otherwise a perfect recipe. Made this with chicken strips.....yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Great and easy recipe. As long as you bake it long enough, the sauce will thicken. Next time I'll experiment and just skip the deep fry part and bake instead for a little bit before adding the sauce. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
woooo, love this stuff,..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onion61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
this was wonderful... everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
So YUMMY!!! Leftovers are also just as good. Recommend this to anyone who loves sticky, ooey, gooey, deliciousness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Lady -- You so ROCK!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States