Mom's Sticky Chicken From 1972 Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I tweeked it a bit, but not by much. Instead of using garlic salt to rub on my raw chicken thighs, I used Tony's Creole Seasoning to give it a kick of heat. I also used half cornstarch and half all purpose flour seasoned with a bit of salt and pepper for taste. I added about a 1/4 cup of Crystal hot sauce and a teaspoon of cayenne pepper to balance out the sweetness of the sauce. I also doubled the recipe for the sauce, so I have extra for another meal. I think I will try it on un-floured chicken next time, even though the crust was very good. I did baste it every ten minutes as instructed and flipped the chicken over half way through baking. My family loved it, especially my husband. I will definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mignon's Filet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe was very sweet. We're not big fans of sweet with our meat and were not expecting that at all. If I were a fan of Chinese takeout then this would far exceed that which is why I gave it the 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Made this again for the second time. The first time it was too dry, but this time I covered it with foil. (gimme a break, I'm still learning)I didn't think it could possibly taste any better but it did! It was so juicy and sweet and flavourful. So for those of you that don't know, cover your chicken! Thank you sooo much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cominograce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
my son is hooked on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I'm pretty picky, I cook a LOT, so here goes....YUM! I was already preparing this when my husband announced we were having company in 30 min.! Turned out SUperb! Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Super fabulous! The sauce was fantastic thanx for sharing it!! I made it several times. Tossed in some sesame seeds and spring onions and served it with Chinese fried rice too. It was a twist on the recipe but everyone adored it!!!!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Awesome!! Everyone loved this last night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Hubby went NUTS over these. I, too, used chicken wings. Made exactly as directed with only change being to run them under the broiler for 5" or so to crisp up. Outstanding. We had with Pizza Bread and a salad, but would be great with steamed rice and Asian flavored meal as well. TYSM for recipe! Note to self: this sauce is amazing. When boiled on stovetop, would make a GREAT sweet & sour sauce; when reduced (as others have noted) tastes just like General Tso's chicken sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is the best sticky chicken recipe EVER!This taste just like general Taos chinese chicken, toss in some sesame seeds and chunked chicken breast, some jasmine rice, & WOW! I also use the sauce mixture to make sweet&sour sauce for shrimp & pork. Thank you for this recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninib

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Just okay for me.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States