Mom's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Fantastic recipe!! I lightened it considerably by using Egg Beaters instead of eggs, reducing the cheese to 1 cup (and using 2% milk cheddar cheese), and using just 1/2 cup bread crumbs instead of the croutons. I also found I was out of mushroom soup....I used 98% fat free Broccoli Cheese soup instead and it was fabulous!! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Just like my mother=in=laws! - AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is such a great recipie!! I have been using it for over a year and my family never gets tired of it. I did tweek the recipie by mixing the squash with the cheese mixture before putting it in the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Very good recipe. Even my husband (not a big fan of squash) enjoyed this dish. I used yellow squash and zuchinni squash plus I added a bit of salt and pepper to the cheese/soup/egg mixture. I didn't have any croutons SO I used seasoned bread crumbs mixed with 2T of melted butter...then sprinkled that on the top. Yum. This is a nice recipe to keep on hand when you are looking for ways to use your squash. The leftovers taste GREAT reheated the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERLOCKLABS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Very easy, delicious and my guests loved it - several asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Delicious! I don't even like squash and I loved this! My grandmother sent us home with a large amount of squash, and I needed to make something with it, since I didn't want it to go to waste. It is absolutely wonderful. I did like a previous reviewer and added salt and a very liberal amount of pepper. Wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This was really good, and I got a ton of compliments on it. The only thing I wasn't that crazy about was the fact that the croutons get kind of hard and chewy on top. Maybe I will crush them next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is "awesome" it reminded me of my grandmothers recipe but I could never figure out her ingredients. I added 3 tablespoons of brown sugar. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
It was not a big hit at the Thanksgiving table. I don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
We absolutely loved it. The croutons make it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States