Mom's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This is really nice, the taste is good. The kids somehow had a problem with the chunks of squash, they usually have a problem of some sort anyway with something new. They will get used to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANA BOSKMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was a great dish. I did make a few changes. I used both yellow and zucchini squash chopped up and sauted with a little butter along with the onion. I used cream of broccoli and cheese soup and crushed up about 1 cup of croutons and mixed them in. I used cheddar and monterey cheese. It will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
My son thought this dish was going to be "gross," but he loved it as much as the rest of us did. He even had seconds! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIE46

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Yum! I sauted the squash and onion with some garlic powder and topped the casserole with Italian seasoned bread crumbs and a few sprays of I Can't Believe It's Not Butter instead of croutons. This was easy to make and I'm sure we'll be having it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
My mom actually makes this all the time! Very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was a delicious casserole! I modified it a bit to suit the tastes of my family members. I used a seasoning blend by Pictsweet that has chopped onions, green and red bell peppers, celery, and garlic salt. I sauteed this blend in a little butter while cutting up the squash. I added the squash and water to the sauteed veggies and cooked together for 15 minutes. I substituted cream of celery for the cream of mushroom and added a little cajun seasoning (Tony Chachere's). The casserole came out beautiful and tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
was a great dish, even our small children ate it and wanted 2nds, 2 thumbs up thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is SO delicious! It was like a crustless quiche. We didn't have any seasoned croutons, so we used plain stuffing-type bread cubes, and sprinkled some seasoning on top (oregano, basil, black pepper, garlic & onion powders). This is probably supposed to be a side dish, but we liked it so much that it was the whole meal (and a few extra helpings, LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
great way to serve squash! i used half yellow squash and half zucchini - made for a "pretty" dish, as well as tasty! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Wonderful, wonderful casserole. I used zuchinni and yellow squash. I added black pepper to the soup mixture (suggested by previous reviewer). I used a four-cheese blend instead of all cheddar. Lastly, I mistakenly bought mushroom soup with roasted garlic--I love garlic and the casserole was just wonderful. My finnicky teenager loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States