Mom's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
very good. made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
A WINNER! I love squash casserole & have been looking for a great recipe for years. It’s hard to find decent recipe without sour cream (as I’m not a big fan). I have tried similar recipes without the egg. THE EGG MAKES THE DIFFERENCE! It adds great texture to the casserole! My changes include: adding ½ cup grated carrot for color, stewing the squash, carrots, & onion in butter and chicken broth, adding 3-4 dashes of pepper sauce and garlic powder to the mix for depth of flavor, and using bread crumbs dotted with butter on top instead of croutons. SUPER DUPER YUMMY! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I added salt, pepper, garlic powder and used seasoned bread crumbs because I did not have seasoned croutons. Excellent. Will make again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe needs a little something extra to give it some zing. I steamed the squash and onion in the microwave in advance so it was very quick to throw this together for a church potluck on Sunday morning. I will definitely make this again, but will likely add minced garlic, salt, pepper, onion powder etc. to add another dimension to the flavor. This recipe will be perfect for a stress free holiday side dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Saute your veg, don't boil. Add some seasoning. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
It's comfort food. I over did it with the garlic, and used several types of squash. Also used bread crumbs, and 1 egg. It's very good dish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was alright. I didn't have enough squash so I used a bit of cucumber. I thought the textures of the squash and cucumber worked fine together. I also cooked it for 15 minutes in the microwave and then 10 in the oven to save time. That seemed to work out just fine. I don't planning on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Really great! I added some garlic but that is the only change and it was tasty. Next time I am going to try zuccini :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
One word....AWESOME! Everyone loved it. My sister said it was cheesy, squashy goodness! *I used seasoned bread crumbs because I didn't have croutons and I sauteed the squash & onions and added a few Tbsp. of water. Next time I make this I'll use more cheese just because I'm a cheese-lover. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigRed76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States