Mom's Spiced Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Mom's Spiced Zucchini Bread Haiku: "This was a nice bread! Spice was a bit overkill. Still I'm glad I made." I know the additional spices are really what set this apart from countless other zucchini bread recipes, but the cloves were just too much in my opinion. I made the bread as directed, not using the optional walnuts nor raisins, but instead tossing in about 1/2 c. mini chocolate chips. Unfortunately 50 min. was too long for my 2 loaves; maybe my oven was feeling more hot than usual or maybe I should've started checking the bread sooner, but my loaves turned out really dry and I've had to slather them in butter to make up for it. If I make this recipe again, I'll drop the cloves entirely and either bake for a shorter time, or make them into muffins instead as many people suggested in their reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Spices make all the difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a very tasty zucchini recipe. I altered a couple of things: I used 1 cup of brown sugar and one cup of white and I replaced 1/2 of the oil with applesauce. I used only the raisins and no nuts. I got 24 muffins out of it which I needed to bake for 26-30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great!!! can't screw it up, very light too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I love all the spices in this recipe. I did substitute and use 1 cup brown sugar and only 1 cup white sugar. Coworkers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very good I made muffins with this recipe and didnt have clove so I used pumpkin pie spice also used dried cranberries instead of raisins. They were very moist and I will definately be makeing these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These are very good. I used pumpkin pie spice because I didn't have any ground cloves and I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and substituted 2/3 cup of coconut oil for the vegetable oil. Used muffin pans and cooked for about 25 minutes as someone else suggested. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I thought this was excellent even though I am picky about my zucchini bread, not too sweet but hearty, warm and treating. I think I am going to add some brown sugar next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetapolishDotCom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Pretty nice, rich taste. Also baked as muffins for 25 min. I used half AP flour and half WW flour. They have a brown color which is perfect for this spiced treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States