Mom's Spaghetti Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Loved this recipe! I still added the red wine at the end though and it gave it such a deep flavour. Would definitely recommend. x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
So disappointed with this. It was super watery and very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I've tried to make homemade sauce before without much success, but this sauce was easy, toothsome, and a keeper! I was dubious about the bacon, celery and balsamic, but those worked out wonderfully. Am about to make this again right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Bauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Medea Dudley
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was an awesome dinner for my family. I made it a little differently though. We used whole wheat pene pasta instead of spaghetti and added 1/2 cup of red wine as well as the balsamic vinegar. Our choice of meat was ground Italian sausage which made the flavor profile deep and rich with comforting goodness. A must save recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
In order to stay on my no carb diet I substituted spaghetti squash steamed in microwave for 10 mins. for noodles and did ground chicken with a little chicken stock instead of beef. It was amazing. And just as satisfying as real pasta. And I'm a pasta fanatic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Skipped bacon fat to make it healthier. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I wish I could give this a 2.5. We ate it. It was hot and it was over pasta, which made it good for a winter's evening. But this sauce tastes predominantly of canned tomatoes. In fact, it really doesn't taste much at all like the Bolognese I've had in restaurants. We won't be making this again. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
It was good! Nothing special but very fresh flavors and a filling dinner for several meals for me and my bf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Excellent.. I used the opion of wine rather thn vinegar. And I slow cooked th finished sauce for 3-4 hours using beef broth(and a littl more dry red wine) to thin as needed. I tasted the sauce at the point the recipe was complete and i think the slow cooking further improved a good sauce. I think the beef broth made it heartier with more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
An excellent recipe by following the steps is a sure win to a novice cook like me. Made some adjustment by adding both balsamic vinegar & Red cooking wine and chopped rosemary leaves just before serving to give that flavour. Best to let in 'rest' for about 1 hour to allow the meat flavour to blend into the sauce. Serve this to my in law relatives and they gave a Thumb up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahong88

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States