Mom's Smoked Salmon Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was one of my Mom's hat-tricks for feeding us 4 girls on a one income budget, still a great breakfast or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. You can tailor it to your own personal tastes and whatever is in the fridge. Here are my changes: I didn't have green peas or green onions, so I used about 2 cups of green beans, a handful of brown mushrooms, and half a jalapeno. I thought 3 cups of rice was too much, so I made 2 cups instead and boiled my rice with chicken broth. Also, I used 2 day old rice so it would fry better. I doubled the egg and salmon, using 4 eggs and 8 ounces of salmon. All in all it was very yummy and a great way to use up leftover ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband made this recipe exactly as it's written, and we're basing our review on that. This is bland and disappointing. In the first place, the rice is way out of proportion with all other ingredients. In the second place, there's absolutely *no* flavor. In the third place, it's super, SUPER dry. I like my fried rice either full of flavor, or saucy, or both. This was neither. It might be a decent base for whatever flavor you'd like to add - but it is NOT a good "stand alone" recipe. Also, I would double the amount of peas, eggs, salmon, onions - or cut the rice in half. But we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
We enjoyed this a lot but I did change it a bit. I used brown rice rather than white (enough for 4 servings). I used red bell pepper in place of the onions because I had no onions. I also added 2 Tbsp of soy sauce and 1 Tbsp of rice vinegar. I felt it needed some kind of "sauce". Loved the flavor of the salmon. Great, fast dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
To reduce carbs and add more veg/protein, I use 1c dry rice, 1 cup peas, and 2 salmon burgers from Costco, then the rest of the recipe as is written. Doesn't last long...so we make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Well, I can't give this five stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly but used it as a guide. I had leftover cooked rice and cooked salmon so I used these plus chopped red pepper, celery and green onion plus the cooked egg. My rice was a bit on the dry side so I added a bit of vegetable oil and fluffed it up. I followed the cooking instructions, omitting cooking the rice of course, and once I added the salmon and rice and stirred it all up, it still seemed a bit dry so I added some sun-dried/oregano salad dressing and mixed that in. Once heated through and spooned out into individual bowls, I topped the rice with a bit of shredded cheese (we love cheese) and we think it turned out pretty darn good. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Changed this around a little bit, here and there and it is quick, easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was pretty good and kind of surprising. I added a can of mushrooms, and some frozen broccoli that I had handy. I added the rice a little at a time until it seemed like the right amount, so I didn't quite use all the rice. I did use about 2 T of soy sauce, because we like salty, but it really didn't need additional salt to taste good. All gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cincysly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is perfect!!! Added soy sauce and some red pepper flakes. Will be a staple in our Alaskan home, Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haines, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Is pretty tasty. Even the picky teen like it enough to eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States