Mom's Simple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I didn't like them and I wish I had seasoned them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Whorton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Countrymama
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Never tried to make chicken and dumplings before, but I found a recipe last night for a crockpot version. However it called for refrigerated premade biscuits... Which I neither had on hand, or wanted to use based on the various reviews. Found this recipe this morning while it was cooking. So happy with it! Forgot to read the number of servings so I have more dough then needed, but it's a simple recipe with cheap ingredients so I'm not too upset. I did substitute margarine for shortening simply because that's what I had on hand. Which from what I've seen is a pretty common substitution. Atleast in my home ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Decrease flour by 2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great dumplings just like Mom used to make. The only thing I change is I substitute butter for the shortening but other than that it is perfect and super simple. The only problem with these dumplings is I always have to double or triple the recipe cause my guys can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryland Heights, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I have tried and tried to make good dumplings, like my mom made when I was a child. I have never been able to do it. This recipe is awesome! I did sift all of the dry ingredients, before mixing the rest of it. I also added some parsley, just before they were done. Perfect!!Thank you!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars for EASE! BUT.. I added a little garlic powder, lemon pepper and parsley to the dumpling mixture and it really kicked up their flavor!! ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Good as a replacement for refrigerator biscuits in the cowboy casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is as easy as any boxed mix. I used butter instead of shortening. they were great in my chicken and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Finally, the dumpling I remember my mother making! My dumplings were always lead balls. The secret I was missing is in this recipe. Shortening - not cold butter. Made my dumplings light and fluffy! Like Mom's I added about 1 teaspoon nutmeg. Ah, back to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States