Mom's Simple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I forgot to make bread with our stew yesterday which was a tragedy so we decided to throw in some dumplings instead. My three year old calls them ducklings and he thought they were great. We didn't have any leftovers so I'll definitely be using this recipe again. Very tasty and really easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is exactly the ingredients my mom and grandma used to use for drop dumplings in boiled chicken. Thank you for this recipe, as I did not get it from them. I've been looking for a drop dumpling recipe like they used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurst gals
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
We like dumplings in beef stew and I've never been able to make really good ones. Until yesterday. I made them too large really but it didn't matter. They were perfect, light and tender all the way through. My only change was to add coarsely ground pepper. I'll halve the size next time but I'll use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These were great. Made them dairy free due to dietary restrictions in the family. Used 3 Tbsp ground flax seed and 2 Tbsp canola oil for the shortening and 3/4 cup rice milk for the milk. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Very simple and yummy. Made it for chicken and dumplings. My kids like it better than baking powder biscuits--it's easier and faster too! Definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to make chicken and dumplings when I stumbled across this recipe. Next time I will double the batch of dumplings as they were really REALLy good. Easy, fast, and good--couldn't ask for a better dumpling! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
These dumplings are excellent! I have used the same recipe for years, but now I will switch. These are lighter and fluffier than mine. It doesn't make too many though, next time I might try doubling it, three hungry boys eat lots of dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brenner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Perfect! The exact recipe I was looking for. I added some herbs and spices before mixing in the milk and they were fabulous in stew. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
These are definitely simple dumplings. They made great chicken and dumplings. They puffed up nicely and were nice and gooey on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is so much like my Mom's dumplings. The only difference is that she added one egg to the dough. Her dumplings were light and airy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glendalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States