Mom's Simple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
We all loved these! I used butter instead of shortening. I baked the leftovers just like you would biscuits and my family devoured them. I'm looking into using this recipe as a dry mix so we can have dumplings/biscuits at the drop of a hat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was the first time I ever made dumplings and I must say they were awesome. Thanks for this easy recipe. Although I had to look up how to cut in the shortening, but it was easier than I thought. I ended up making a sausage soup to cook these in and that turned out great too. I cut the salt down to 1/2 a tsp because of the salt in the chicken stock and the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is the same recipe that my mom makes, and it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Dumplings have been my nemesis for a long time but this recipe is so simple and good...go figure! Put them on my crock pot beef stew for this nights dinner and they were delicious. Thanks for posting this recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These are sooo good!!! They taste just like the ones my mom used to make!!! They are classic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I was looking for a recipe that would make drop dumplings as easily as Bisquick but without the Bisquick's fake ingredients. This is it! Perfectly soft and puffy. Only change I made was to use butter rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Bisquick tastes better. Not worth the work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is the dumpling recipe I've always used, it's also in the old Betty Crocker cookbook. You can't go wrong with it, so good on beef soup/stew on a chilly fall evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Good old fashioned bread dumplings! Simple and perfect for stew. I added a tablespoon of dried parsley flakes for color but that's it. You can add other herbs but why ... the simplicity of this dumpling compliments and doesn't compete with the stew's gravy. After plopping mine on top of the stew I covered with a lid and turned heat to the lowest setting for 10 minutes and then turned off the heat and left them rest while still covered for another 10 minutes. They puffed up nice and had a wholesome goodness to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States