Mom's Simple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Its easy and very good, I used butter instead of shortening and added parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Just like Grandma's! These were perfect, light and fluffy. Not too doughy-just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Possum Kingdom Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I must have done something wrong, but everytime I try to make these kind of dumplings, they dissentigrate to nothingness!!! It was a mess!! I'll slick with a more dense dumpling recipe my mom uses, all that's in that is flour egg and milk!!!! Never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
We all loved these! I used butter instead of shortening. I baked the leftovers just like you would biscuits and my family devoured them. I'm looking into using this recipe as a dry mix so we can have dumplings/biscuits at the drop of a hat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was the first time I ever made dumplings and I must say they were awesome. Thanks for this easy recipe. Although I had to look up how to cut in the shortening, but it was easier than I thought. I ended up making a sausage soup to cook these in and that turned out great too. I cut the salt down to 1/2 a tsp because of the salt in the chicken stock and the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is the same recipe that my mom makes, and it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Dumplings have been my nemesis for a long time but this recipe is so simple and good...go figure! Put them on my crock pot beef stew for this nights dinner and they were delicious. Thanks for posting this recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These are sooo good!!! They taste just like the ones my mom used to make!!! They are classic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I was looking for a recipe that would make drop dumplings as easily as Bisquick but without the Bisquick's fake ingredients. This is it! Perfectly soft and puffy. Only change I made was to use butter rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States