Mom's Simple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Made these for chicken and dumplings (as I didn't want to use biscuit mix like the chicken and dumpling recipe suggested), and these turned out extremely well. They're also really easy to make. I will definitely be keeping this around as the go-to dumpling recipe around here! They worked with that recipe, and would work well in pretty much any stew recipe you might want dumplings for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is the dumpling I remember as a kid. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom_of_one_picky_kid
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I sauteed carrots, celery, onions, garlic and a bay leaf together and then added some diced chicken breast. Thickened with cornstarch added salt and pepper to taste and then made these dumplings. They were great. They did not turn out as pictured but maybe my broth was more bubbly. Still they were chewy on the outside and bread like in the middle which is exactly how I want my dumplings. I did use butter instead of shortening. Thank you for the great recipe I will use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_one_picky_kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Shaffer
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
SOOOOO easy and soooooo tasty. I have always bought the yellow box of biscuit mix to make dumplings. These are far better and the texture is less heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorroth1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Really good! I did mine in the slow cooker and I just need to remember to give it more time to cook through. But we were impatient and hungry! I also added parsley and basil to them. mmmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.kyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
These dumplings tasted great and were extremely easy to make. I used them in my chicken stew last night and they came out so fluffy. I did follow the suggestions of the some other reviewers and used butter instead of shortening, added some black pepper as well as I cooked it covered on a low simmer for 20 minutes. My family really loved these and this will now be my new go to recipe for dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These are so tender. Glad I now have a dumpling recipe that is so easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Followed the recipe. Very good. Was able to reheat the dumplings by very carefully removing them from cold soup, heating soup to a slow simmer and dropping dumplings back on top for about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Delicious. I added a little bit of basil and garlic powder before adding the milk. Like the other reviewers said, "Just like Mom's"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States