Mom's Simple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I used butter instead of shortening (personal taste), but these dumplings are pure heaven. I cover the whole top of the roaster with them then brush them with rendered butter once the tops firm up. Thank you Zen K for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobodeluxe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very good. I use this as my go-to recipe for dumplings. I do however, add an egg to help keep them together. Otherwise they tend to dissolve away in my chicken and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Excellent, however, mom taught me to save a bundle of time and effort by following the directions for dumplings on the side of the bisquick box. This is exactly what you get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sledgehammer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I just made these for dinner, and what a winner!definitely making these as a staple for stews and soups very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
too mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
So good. These dumplings were just what my split pea needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadGab73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Just what I was looking for. Perfect drop dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I used butter for the shortening and just a pinch of salt, followed the directions and ended up with exremely light melt in your mouth dumplings my family loved. Don't forget always eat your dumplings with a fork, if you cut into them with a spoon it flattens them and they lose that "aireness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Love this recipe. I did change it up just a bit. I used kosher salt and whole buttermilk. I also dropped the dough by half teaspoon full. I lightly peppered the dumplins when done. They were wonderful. I will never use another dumplin recipe ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aprille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Just like the ones my grandma used to make. Needed to add some pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States