Mom's Simple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great dumplings just like Mom used to make. The only thing I change is I substitute butter for the shortening but other than that it is perfect and super simple. The only problem with these dumplings is I always have to double or triple the recipe cause my guys can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryland Heights, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I have tried and tried to make good dumplings, like my mom made when I was a child. I have never been able to do it. This recipe is awesome! I did sift all of the dry ingredients, before mixing the rest of it. I also added some parsley, just before they were done. Perfect!!Thank you!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars for EASE! BUT.. I added a little garlic powder, lemon pepper and parsley to the dumpling mixture and it really kicked up their flavor!! ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Good as a replacement for refrigerator biscuits in the cowboy casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is as easy as any boxed mix. I used butter instead of shortening. they were great in my chicken and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Finally, the dumpling I remember my mother making! My dumplings were always lead balls. The secret I was missing is in this recipe. Shortening - not cold butter. Made my dumplings light and fluffy! Like Mom's I added about 1 teaspoon nutmeg. Ah, back to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I cooked chicken yesterday and discovered I was out of Bisquick. I used this recipe and we loved it. My husband ate more for his breakfast this morning! I will hang onto this one! Thanks. MP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
These were wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and had to add a little more flour as the dough was very wet but the came out fluffy and perfect. I had baked a turkey and used the drippings plus a can of chicken broth and additional water. The best recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
These dumplings were delicious! I used self rising flour, used butter instead of shortening, added finely shredded colby jack cheese, about 4 tbs, garlic powder and parsley flakes. I did not add any salt. Awesome on top of my lemon chicken stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States