Mom's Simple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Perfect! At first, I tasted one of the dumplings and a I thought it needed seasoning but when I ate them mixed into the beef stew, they were delicious! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I love this recipe I added garlic salt Italian seasoning & parsley. My family loved it so much ask me to make it again my husband Kiss me and said was the best dumplings he ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Easy & quick to make and came out very tasty. I also added a bit of fresh chopped parsley. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Kitsune

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Very easy to make. Didn't have baking powder so I used self rising and omitted salt and baking powder. Turned out fluffy and delicious!!! My husband and kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Edwin
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Wonderful recipe. I added a 1/2 teaspoon sugar to the mix and added carrots and celery to the chicken soup. This is now a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Just so you know....this was Great Gramma Viki's recipe from so long ago, & I've loved it all my life ( and I'm almost 70, so it's OLD!). However, a dumpling is a "gentle" thing. If you have the heat too high, or "boil" the poor thing, it WILL disintegrate. Don't have to thicken the soup anymore, but I LIVE for those dumplings!!! "Gently simmer", please! !!! HTH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I lost my mom's recipe for dumplings and tried this....it delivered! The same melt in your mouth wonderfulness of comfort. I used the recipe as written and just added a little freshly ground black pepper at the end as a topping. I used them on creamy chicken stew. I am married to a Jamaican, and after 15 years of his hard dumplings, it was heaven to come back to these little clouds of dumplings like mom used to make! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I didn't like them and I wish I had seasoned them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Whorton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Countrymama
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Never tried to make chicken and dumplings before, but I found a recipe last night for a crockpot version. However it called for refrigerated premade biscuits... Which I neither had on hand, or wanted to use based on the various reviews. Found this recipe this morning while it was cooking. So happy with it! Forgot to read the number of servings so I have more dough then needed, but it's a simple recipe with cheap ingredients so I'm not too upset. I did substitute margarine for shortening simply because that's what I had on hand. Which from what I've seen is a pretty common substitution. Atleast in my home ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Decreased the flour by 2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States