Mom's Signature Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I've only eaten Red Velvet Cake once in my life and it was well...bad. I thought I would try one anyway and see if I liked it or not. I really liked the cake part of this recipe. It was moist and had a nice flavor to it. The frosting was really sweet and kind of grainy, the grainy could be my fault I've never made a cooked frosting so I'm not sure if its supposed to be that way or not. I was also kind of confused about how much sugar was supposed to go into the frosting. The ingredient lists 2 cups but the directions say 1. So I used one then tasted but I thought it wasn't sweet enough so I added the other cup of sugar. It ended up being to sweet once I put it on the cake. But I don't know if it was supposed to be 1 or 2. I'll probably make the cake part again but use Ricks Special Buttercream Frosting for the frosting part. The frosting wasn't bad it was just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is the original recipe for Red Velvet Cake, I rec'd my recipe in 1963. I have made it numerous times...the icing is luscious. You really have to let the butter and sugar mix until there isn't any grainy bits left in the icing and then beat in the flour/milk mixture. I like making this as a xmas dessert and decorating the top of the cake with marzipan pointsettia leaves and flowers -not the real ones as they are a bit poisonous. Just mix some food colour into your marzipane - yes you might have to make some using almond paste. and then make a template of pointsettia leaves and flowers and have some fun. You can make a large decorative cake and use a large flower for it and then make a 9 x 13 cake and make a smaller flower for each slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is a disaster! I spent so much time with the many steps of making this, the directions are not clear as far as if it should be mixed with a beater or how many strokes if it is meant to be stirred only. Anyways, the frosting is horrible. My cake looks awful and the frosting is nothing more than butter with grainy sugar. Find another recipe if you value your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleveland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I did not care for this recipe... very dry and the frosting separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Cake was tedious to make and it came out very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Love it! I discovered red velvet cake while living in Atlanta. Can't find the real deal now that i'm living in Mass. THIS IS THE REAL DEAL! Made it for the family... every-one loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe is all you need. I know people are always trying to change their recipes to "make it better" but don't! All you need to know is with the step with the red food coloring and adding cocoa to make a paste. Add cocoa until there is a paste. The recipe called for 2T, I definitely had to double the cocoa (heaping tablespoons) to get a paste. Just a tip, use it or not ;P Great recipe, got RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
For frosting it doesn't say 10x sugar pretty sure that is right but want to check.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This cake was so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I tried it and I thought it was incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States