Mom's Signature Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Instructions say grease TWO 9" pans. Then, inconspicuously, it says the recipe makes ONE 9" pan. Well which is it??? Furthermore, the picture shows three layers. I went with one layer after pouring two pans and noticing there wasn't enough batter. If it was a simple recipe, it wouldn't have been that big of a deal, but this recipe is on the complicated side. The single layer looks like it will taste good, but the confusion over layers made me very annoyed. I did not use this icing recipe, instead opting for a cream cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Moyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe is all you need. I know people are always trying to change their recipes to "make it better" but don't! All you need to know is with the step with the red food coloring and adding cocoa to make a paste. Add cocoa until there is a paste. The recipe called for 2T, I definitely had to double the cocoa (heaping tablespoons) to get a paste. Just a tip, use it or not ;P Great recipe, got RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is the best recipe that I have found without the cream cheese icing! Absolutely enjoy making and most definitely eating! I have made a few tweeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Herritt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Important,in the original recipe it calls for the cake to have split layers, it should 6 layers from 3 cakes. I see some say it is dry. It is anything but dry with the 6 layers. It is better to let the cake set for a day. I fix this cake with double icing, that way I can ice it between layers and on the sides
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
1 cup = 16 tablespoons 7/8 cup = 14 tablespoons 3/4 cup = 12 tablespoons 1/2 cup = 8 tablespoons 1/3 cup = 5 1/3 tablespoons 1/4 cup = 4 tablespoons 1/8 cup = 2 tablespoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
For frosting it doesn't say 10x sugar pretty sure that is right but want to check.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Cake was tedious to make and it came out very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I did not care for this recipe... very dry and the frosting separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is a disaster! I spent so much time with the many steps of making this, the directions are not clear as far as if it should be mixed with a beater or how many strokes if it is meant to be stirred only. Anyways, the frosting is horrible. My cake looks awful and the frosting is nothing more than butter with grainy sugar. Find another recipe if you value your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleveland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is the original recipe for Red Velvet Cake, I rec'd my recipe in 1963. I have made it numerous times...the icing is luscious. You really have to let the butter and sugar mix until there isn't any grainy bits left in the icing and then beat in the flour/milk mixture. I like making this as a xmas dessert and decorating the top of the cake with marzipan pointsettia leaves and flowers -not the real ones as they are a bit poisonous. Just mix some food colour into your marzipane - yes you might have to make some using almond paste. and then make a template of pointsettia leaves and flowers and have some fun. You can make a large decorative cake and use a large flower for it and then make a 9 x 13 cake and make a smaller flower for each slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States