Mom's Shrimp Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Quite liked it! Made it for a canada day BBQ I'm hosting tonight. I added some sweet corn and used sautéed larger shrimp that I cut up in small pieces. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is surprisingly good! Sorry, I'm going to be one of those people who changed the recipe and then rates it. I didn't have horseradish so I used yellow mustard, didn't have green pepper so used grated carrots, used half regular mayo and half light, and reconstituted dried onion for the fresh. Still, the sauce is a great complement to the shrimp (that's why the ketchup) and I look forward to eating this for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina Shan
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I LOVE this macaroni salad. I have made it several times. The last time I made it, I swapped Dijon mustard for the horseradish, and I used the herbs I had in my herb garden (dill, cilantro, and parsley). I also didn't have salad shrimp, so I just chopped large shrimp into thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Fantastic! Followed the recipe, even down to the pickle juice! The seasonings really made it pop. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I decreased the horseradish by half and used homemade sweet zucchini relish otherwise followed the recipe as written. Will definitely be making this again!! Full of flavor and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this the other day wow its really good, I just didn't cook the shrimp and it was perfect I didn't add the hot sauce my husband had this done in a whole day but I double the batch I am so keeping this recipe thanks !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueblue724
Home Town: Crescent, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I very rarely if ever give a bad rating but I did not care for this recipe. The pickle relish and ketchup is overpowering in this salad. The dressing for the amount of pasta is way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
My partner does not like horseradish or pickle relish but he loved this and asked afterwards if I was going to be making it again! I did baulk a little at the thought of all the processed sauces going into the dish but it did taste very nice and tangy. Next time however I'll leave the prawns on the side rather than mixing them in with the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Really, really good macaroni salad. I think I'll try it next time with imitation crab. I think I'll like that flavor better than the shrimp. But the sauce on this - even though I thought it would be strange with the ketchup and other ingredients - was spot on. I also was skeptical about the lack of salt in the recipe, but it didn't need it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Love Love Love this dish. I have made it several times always with success. Everyone that tries it asks for the recipe. I use small shells and the pickle juice, have substituted lemon juice as well and it worked too. Summer fav at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States