Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
It was a really great, really easy recipe. I added about a can and a half of mixed veggies instead of just green beans to give some variety. I also used instant mashed potatoes and it tasted excellent. My boyfriend and I had three helpings each before we were full~ It was so good! Definitely taste-test everything before baking and don't forget the vent holes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Very good "base" recipe! I chopped up some red onion and added to the ground beef while browning. I too added Lipton Onion soup mix. I didn't use the tomato sauce--didn't have any. Instead I added a little red wine--no worchestershire or ketchup. I used canned french cut green beans. The flour/water mixture held it together very well. For the mashed potatoes, I used instant and added butter and salt. I topped it all off with shredded cheddar cheese. This was EXCELLENT!!! A very good & quick meal for busy moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Didn't care for this. Made as specified and found it rather bland. Next day when reheated we added cheese and still really didn't help much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
A very easy recipe to prepare and very good - I don't like green beans, so I used frozen peas and carrots which made it very colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh this was good, perfect cold weather comfort food, this one's going in the file for future reference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Sobrante, California, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was a great basic recipe to tweak. I used an 8oz can of tomato sauce, worchester sauce and a packet of lipton onion soup mix instead of salt, pepper and flour mixture. I also used a bag of frozen mixed veggies instead of canned green beans. the meat didn't have as much sauce to it as I would have liked, so next time I will some water to make it a bit juicier. Made the mashed potatoes with milk, sour cream and mustard. Got rave reviews from my whole family... even my 18 month old! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
It was good and everyone enjoyed it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Not enough flavor. And too many potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was quite good, especially for the mashed potato lover at your house. I added 1 can tomato soup and 1/2 can of beefbroth to the liquid & pinch of sugar. I added onion and garlic to the meat while browning. We enjoyed it! Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I thought this recipe was edible, but nothing great, and I probably won't be making again. I subbed a can of carrots for one of the cans of green beans. I added garlic & onions, and even added some butter to the mashed potatoes, but it still tasted kind of plain or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States