Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
omg SOOOO GOOD!!! will definately make over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This recipe was good. I used frozen mixed veggies instead of just the green beans. I added onion & garlic to the ground beef. Sharp cheddar cheese on top of the mashed potatoes the last 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Good base recipe. I made this for my husband and me, so I decreased the amount of extra lean ground beef, and I did make the following alterations: more spices while browning beef (pepper, cayenne pepper, onion powder, garlic powder), chopped onion and minced garlic while browning. For the veggies I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies I had, used whole wheat flour, and no extra salt, and more than a dash of worcestershire sauce. For the tomato sauce I used ketchup, because I had no cans of sauce, I just added what I thought looked like enough. Lastly for the potatoes I used less, did not peel, and made my version of mashed potatoes with fat free sour cream/milk, then topped the whole thing with a little bit of extra sharp cheddar cheese --I put everything in and 8X8 pan, baked covered for 25 mins, then broiled for the last 4 and it was delicious! No leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
It was very good, but I didn't really follow the recipe too closely. Instead of green beans, I added a bag of mixed frozen veg. Everything else I kept the same and my husband and I thought it was good, but I will use less potatoes and more meat and veg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I had to add Sharp Cheddar to make this recipe complete- I love the crispy melted cheese on shepherd's pie- for me that makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Byrd Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Of course I changed a few things, we use ground turkey instead of beef in all our meals. I had these two cans of mashed sweet potatoes, don't know why....guess I bought the wrong thing. I had some leftover Alfredo Ssuce...din't want tomatoe with sweet potatoes. And Huby said it was a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I'm giving this 3 stars because it is a great base to do what you like with. I did not make this canned vegetables, I used fresh. I also substituted the ground burger for half burger/half soy "burger" (I swear, you cannot tell the difference!). The sauce and seasonsing for the meat were excellent. I will use this for my base recipe from now on. Cooking times were just about perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I found it somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I didn't have green beans so I used corn. I also used dried parsley because I didn't have the fresh stuff. With those minor changes, the recipe was still wonderful. The best part is the way the ground beef is seasoned - very flavourful. I nice twist on a classic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was good. Even though I knew what Shepherd's Pie was and had seen it many times, for some reason I never got around to trying to make it myself until now. My kids liked it, too! I didn't add the flour and water -- the kids were all in the kitchen with me, and I didn't notice I'd skipped that step until I was putting it on the table. (So nice to have kids to blame it on, huh?) I'll be sure to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States