Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was ok, but kind of dry. Next time, I will add more tomato sauce and less potatoes, since the potatoes seemed to make it more dry than it should have been. Still, my kids liked it, so I'm not complaining too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
i was kinda disappointed, this was just missing some flavor. and it only had gr beans as a veggi. id def add some corn and more to this one to get some more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was really great! My hubby, who by the way does not usually like casseroles, loved it. I used frozen whole green beans and fresh carrot, and used an entire can of tomato sauce which was 8 oz instead of 6 oz as stated in the recipe. I also just poured a splash of fat free 1/1 & 1/2 to the potatoes before mashing. This was a great recipe and very few dishes to clean up! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was really wonderful and will be a staple in our house this winter! We did the following tweaks: Homemade garlic mashed potatoes on top with a Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top, we used ground venison instead of beef, peas instead of green beans and added a layer of corn as well. We added the following spices to keep the flavor bolder: extra Worcestershire, onion powder, garlic powder and garlic salt to taste. It turned out really well and was a crowd pleaser for all at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I've tried several shepherd's pie recipes, and so far like this is the best. I use instant 4-cheese mashed potatoes (easier to make and better flavor), plenty of Worcestershire sauce, and a bag of mixed frozen vegetables. Easy and fast to make, and the result is tasty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Hadn't made this in years. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SportyXLH883

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Martinez, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Very good. I also added onions and garlic while browning the ground beef. It seemed to have a bit of liquid in the bottom when it was done. Wasn't an issue for us, as we gobbled it up anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I thought this recipe looked a little simple/singular tasting, so I added cooked/seasoned lima beans, corn, and lightly steamed fresh carrots to the filling. And, I used left over garlic mashed potatoes for the topping. This final product was worth the extra work; it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was incredibly easy especially since I used instant mashed potatoes. My family ate it and seemed satisfied. I also cooked the beef with onions and garlic and I use a bag of frozen mixed veggies. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Absolutely delish! I received major compliments and it was my first time making shepherd's pie in my life. I did add onions and garlic to the pan before I browned the meat. I also would add more ground beef to the recipe, and instead of tomato paste, I used Italian seasoned diced tomatoes. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States