Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made a few modifications to this recipe, based on what I had on hand. I added green beans, and green pepper to the meat mixture, and skipped the step of adding flour and water. Definately a hit with my husband, and my toddler! It allowed me to sneak in veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This is a great meal, tastes just like my mom's! I also added a can of corn and had to use a little extra tomato sauce. Also, I completely missed the step of adding water and flour but it turned out wonderful anyway. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
My family thoroughly enjoyed these. I have 5 children and it's hard sometimes to make something that ALL of them like. I use to love this when I was little and surprisingly this was the first time I made it for my family. I think 4 out of 5 of the kids went back for seconds, I made it exactly the same as the recipe calls for with no changes to it~awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babydollLovecake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is a great basic recipe. I find that I can add any vegetables that I have on hand and it tastes great. The last time I made it, I used leftover spaghetti sauce, which I actually like better than plain tomato sauce. This is on my dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbont

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shipshewana, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Good base recipe. Made the first time exactly as recipe states. Wasn't too thrilled; the flavor was a bit too bland for my household's taste. Made again with the following changes and got a WOW from my bf: diced 1med onion and sweat in 2 tblsp olive oil. cook until translucent & add 2 tbsp minced garlic. cook for 2-3 minutes. Add 2lbs ground beef sirloin, parsley, salt and pepper and brown, drain excess. Add 15oz tomato sauce, 1 can peas, 1 can green beans, 1 can corn, mix together. Add flour and water mixture (2.5tblsp flour/4tblsp water), mix well. place into baking dish, top with colby jack or sharp cheddar cheese (I used about 1-2 cups) and then mashed taters (I did cheat and used boxed mashed potatoes that I doctored up with chives, garlic and onion powder) and cook for 20mins. take out and brush top with butter and milk and bake for 5 more minutes. Not sure if this can still be called shepherd's pie after my alterations, but we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Abner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is excellent; have made it 3 times now. My changes: Add chives to potatoes (and I like LOTS of potatoes on top); add garlic, Onion Soup Mix, 1/2 can beef broth, and beer. Simmer for about an hour. Shredded cheee on top. Can use tomato soup instead of sauce (I was in a out of the tom. sauce but decided I loved the flavor of tom. soup in this one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
amazing! Few changes...1) I seasoned the beef some would say "mexican style" with onions, garlic, red bell pepper, cumin, oregano, chili powder, onion powder, plus the tomato sauce and parsley and salt and pepper, but i didn't have worcestershire sauce. I still thicken the beef with flour as well. 2) I don't mix the beef with the green beans. I put down the beef first and then the green beans and finally the potatoes. Of course I top it all with cheese! My mom always made this for me growing up, and now I think with this recipe, mine is probably better than hers! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassagrass
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe; however, my four children would not eat any more after the first bite! Sorry to say I will not be making this again.... unless my children change their minds! Thanks for the recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracylee24
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBurtch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Found recipe very bland and lacking of much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PacNWCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States